CONTEST : WHICH ENGLISH LANGUAGE SKILL IS THE MOST DIFFICULT FOR YOU?//My entry

in Steem Skillshare3 years ago (edited)

Greeting Steemians, how are you doing?

Today I am participating in the contest arranged by @ftz "which English skill is difficult for me and why?"

4-core-skill.jpg
Image source


The skill that I find most difficult is speaking. As we don't have the privilege to speak English as English is not our first language and not being spoken in our country. This is the main reason I find it challenging.

The second factor is a lack of self-confidence I guess and a fear of making mistakes. When I think that if I talk in English, people will laugh at me because I will make mistakes, I lose motivation. Apart from these, although having English as a major subject, it is not frequently used in schools or universities. They are solely concerned with reading and writing.

It is only used by pupils who are studying in English medium. We don't have to use English in class if we don't want to. To pass the tests, all we need is an understanding of academic writing and reading.

Apart from that, I have issues with my listening skill. The most of the time, I am unable to comprehend native speakers. As a result, whenever I watch an English-language film or television series, I prefer to use subtitles. It's incredibly tough for me to understand without subtitles.

I'm not sure why it's so difficult for me. Probably because native speakers speak so quickly that I can't keep up, or because I am accustomed to looking at subtitles rather than really listening. That could be the major problem.

So, these 2 skills are very difficult for me comparing to other 2 skills reading and writing.

Thanks so much @ftz for this nice contest and I am inviting my friend @gormogon, @musharrof11,@sofiasheen to join in this competition.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I think that so many people would love to improve their English that these days we are going to organise a workshop on Steem SkillShare. What do you think @ftz @dwarrilow2002

This is a good idea @milakz

 3 years ago (edited)

I am all for it. I have been trying to create some materials for @daytona475 (life has been getting in the way, though). I once ran a class in Cherkasy, Ukraine, and I would introduce a few phrases to the students, and they would repeat the words back three times. They would repeat these phrases to the student beside them, and then that student would give a suitable reply. As an example, the leading question would be "What did you have for breakfast?" and the responder would answer from a list of food and drink I had prepared beforehand. "I had eggs and a glass of juice." The responder then became the questioner for the next person. Everyone heard and repeated the phrases multiple times (modelling), reproduced the words to the person beside them (guided exercise) and then encouraged to practice afterwards while in class (Reinforcement).

I have yet to give a video course but do you think that this format will work @ftz?

I suppose we could include Total Physical Response (TPR) techniques. You can see it illustrated in this example, teaching the words look, listen, good job, and why.

image.png
Source

I can start looking up Neuro-Linguistic Programming (NLP) techniques to improve outcomes.

 3 years ago (edited)

I think the format that you are talking about, it is targeting the beginners, right? If it is so, then yes it's a good idea.

Another thing, different people have different way of learning. Some people can learn easily from visuals while others learn easily by listening. So depending on the language level of students and their way of learning, any suitable method can be applied.

 3 years ago 

I am open to any suggestions. It has been years since I have taught anyone, and I have never conducted courses by video conferencing.

 3 years ago 

I am sure you will be successful✌✌. We can chat on Discord to organise with more details. I think we can invite all participants of @ftz contest. Maybe the only difficulty is time zones

It's really great that you are going to conduct a video conference on English @dwarrilow2002.

For that I think, you can first introduce your methods of teaching to the participants of that class. After that based on the compatibility you can apply any of those techniques that you mentioned earlier.

I think guided exercise is good in the beginning as they will know how to pronounce it and then reinforcement will make it easier. Again it will depend on the participants English level, Language goals and so on.

I am so happy for your decision to arrange such Kind of workshop to help people with their English. I wish you good luck.

Thank you.

The same trouble I'm having as native speaker of another language. I'm pretty sure that this is the main issue of every English learner. But with practice and constance it's possible to get a better improvement. Regards from Latin America 👍🏼#venezuela #affable

Well done! Thanks for your participation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64122.04
ETH 2745.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66