WorldAutismDay 世界自閉症日

Was asked by an OT social media account if I would like to share a message for #WorldAutismDay today so I put this together!
What is needed is not actually awareness, but action, in particular: education around neurodivergence being embedded in all healthcare courses but not just any old info from academics who self-proclaim their 'expertise' (I cringe when I think back to what we were taught during my psychology undergraduate degree - ableism and falsehoods galore - fellow psych pals, if you base your understanding of autism on Baron-Cohen's stuff, do yourself a massive favor and update your knowledge by learning exactly just how much of his work is heavily flawed/has been debunked!); and more + better services with far shorter waiting times. 4 years is really not an okay length of time for people to wait to be seen for dx! 😳

64.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65688.41
ETH 3444.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64