The Problems With the New Editor and The Temporary Workaround

in Best of India3 years ago (edited)
Today, we were all surprised by the inclusion of the new editor on steemit. Unlike the old markdown style editor, this is a more visual editor where we get to choose the numerous styling options instead of manually entering markdown.

Problems I faced so far:

When I initially saw this, I was very happy as this makes editing posts a whole lot easier. However, once I started using it, the problems just kept adding up.

It looks like many others also have a quarrel with the new editor as well. So, here are the problems that I faced so far.

1- Referencing other steemit articles: If you try to reference another steemit article within yours, then the format in which the article is rendered is very bad.

Problem 1.PNG
As you can see the link on the rendered part on the right is all messed up
The screenshot attached above shows us an example of exactly that.

2- Adding Captions: Adding captions to images is another massive problem that I faced in the new editor.

Problem2.PNG
Adding captions is not possible in the new editor
As you can see from the attached screenshot, the caption appears as plain text along with the tags.

Problem4-1.PNG

Problem4-2.PNG
Github page opens up



3- Tagging other steemit users: If you tag another user in your article and click on the username to verify that you tagged the right person, you are redirected to a Github page of that username and not the steemit page.

4- Formating posts: Most of us are used to using text-justify to format our articles.

Problem3.PNG
Text justify is non-functional
Using this in the new editor simply renders the plain HTML tags instead of fixing the alignment of the post.

The Temporary Fix:

I would suggest you to post your article on the steem blockchain without adding any captions to images or fixing alignment.

Fix1.PNG
Click on the edit button
Once the article is posted, open the article and hit the edit option at the bottom.

Fix2.PNG
The old editor opens up
This would now open the old editor that we have all been used to and loved so far.

Let me know if you found an alternative way to fix the problem with the new editor.

CC: @endingplagiarism @sapwood @rishabh99946 @neerajkr03 @steemcurator01 @steemcurator02 @steemitblog

Sort:  

It's very difficult now to post for me, I am a mobile user.😓😓

Same here.. please help me
I can't post my singing ,

When I give the YouTube link in my post .That video is not visible in the review box on the right side . @jyotisingh ,@neerajkr03 , @sapwood ,@rishabh99946

You can edit your post after posting, this is the temporary solution ,as far as I know.
Hope this problem will solve soon.

Thanks dear

I will share a detailed post on "How to use this new Editor" soon. I hope that will be helpful.

Thank you so much @neerajkr03

I think now previous post editor has started coming and the new Editor has been removed just a few minutes before. so for now, we all can start using the old Editor.


In the new Editor, I tested it by just adding the youtube hyperlink/URL (copy / paste), and posted it, It was showing properly in the blog post. But. now old Editor is back so there won't be any problem.

Thank you so much for your help and your support 😊

Yesterday I shared a recipe using the new editor .
But old is gold ☺️
@neerajkr03

You have been upvoted by @sapwood, a Country Representative from INDIA. We are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator07 account to support the newcomers coming into Steemit.

Engagement is essential to foster a sense of community. Therefore we would request our members to visit each other's post and make insightful comments.

Thank you.

I strongly feel that there should be an additional button to either enable the editor or disable it.

Yes, agreed. If I remember right, previously, busy.org had the feature where we could either use the visual editor or the markdown editor. They had a toggle switch to switch between the different editor views.

Let me also try this new editor today.

I am not happy with new chages. In mobile i getting very hard to publishing my post now.

If they add addtional button for changing editor to previous is good for mobile users.

I'm sure that the steemit team is already aware of this problem. Till we have an official fix from their end, we can use desktop mode in mobile browsers to get things done.
Worst case scenario, as I mentioned in this post, you can always go on to edit a post to get access to the previous editor itself.

Thank you.

Yes,In mobile on using this edior I am not comfortable.

Hope soon this issue solved.

I used this editor 4hours back from now and it helped me lot to writing the post. I didn't use in mobile so no idea about mobile responsive.

Hi @sumitkr27.
The old editor was very simple and gave users full control over how they edit their posts using markdown. The new one has some of the markdown features cooked into it. However, it lacks some of the features such as anything to do with formating articles using HTML tags.
Thank you.

It's really difficult for us to write.facing alot of problem and taking alot time to write one post

Thank you for your help, I totally disturbed with new changes,

I could not post any diary because of this
Thank you for your suggestion of edition of post.
Thanks alot.....
I think it will work

You're welcome.

I am facing a lot of problem. I hope to find a solution to the problem soon.
Have a nice day
Thank You

This new editor is not easy to use and I think there should be an option to use it not.. There are some bugs which needs to get fixed first. While using on mobile its very hard to post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94