Steemcryptic Update | Tag Searcher now Displays the Current SP of the User

in Best of India3 years ago (edited)

Hi all. Over the last weekend, I have been testing out the new SDS APIs that @steemchiller has been working on. The performance boost that it offers is simply unreal when compared to the traditional Hivemind APIs. While checking the new version out, I came across one API that would definitely help tag searcher and the crypto academy a lot.

Problem:

The Steemit Crypto Academy had introduced the eligibility thresholds since Season 3. This meant that users had to satisfy particular criteria to be eligible for the different difficulty stages. Tag searcher was never able to provide the data related to the current SP of a user excluding the deligated vests because it was causing a lot of performance-related issues. Having to make hundreds of HTTP requests to fetch this data was simply not very scalable.

This meant that the professors had to manually go into the profile of the user and verify if he/she is eligible for a difficulty level. This obviously consumes time. To eradicate this, I have now built the feature to get the own SP of the user without having to face the performance consequences.

The Solution:


image.png
The new field in the UI

Calling an API to the vesting shares of every user is not scalable. However, calling an API just once to fetch this data would definitely not cause that big of a problem. The SDS Accounts API allows me to do exactly that! Once I have the vesting shares of the users, I then use the current global props to convert that into Steem Power and display in the UI.

With this new feature in place, the professors don't even have to go into the posts of users who don't satisfy the eligibility criteria of a particular difficulty level.

Future Updates:

Currently, I have paused the WWEMA bot development cause I am spending more time identifying patterns of comment abuse. Once I have the logic ready, I would be excluding all the SPAM comments. Thereby giving a more accurate WEMA score.

I would also be releasing a new BETA version of tag searcher that would allow users to search for multiple tags. Currently, I am testing this out. So, expect the feature to be out in the next Weekend. Additionally, I would also try and implement a feature that helps to identify users who are currently powering down. This would also help the professors to filter out eligible assignment submissions. Although I haven't started implementing this yet, I believe this would not be much of a problem to implement.

I would also be sticking to the usual Weekly updates to the Steemcryptic site. So, the deployments would most probably happen on Sunday night IST.

PS: I request all the professors to follow the format shared by sapwood to rate the assignment.

If you like the work that I do here, do support me by voting me as a witness:
You can do that by going to https://steemitwallet.com/~witnesses and vote starlord28(Currently ranked 54) or
Vote starlord28 as Witness: https://steemyy.com/witness-voting/?witness=starlord28&action=approve

CC:
@steemitblog
@steemcurator01

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59368.30
ETH 2461.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45