Collecting Red Beads

in Best of India3 years ago

photo_2021-10-13_17-22-03.jpg

I am not sure how Indians call this tree, but it is commonly known as "Red Bead Tree" or "Red Lucky Seed" in English. In Sri Lanka, we call them "Maara". My story is not about the origin of the Red Bead Tree but about my evening visit to collect Red Beads with my little brother.

He is my cousin and he is just 10 years old. I am 15 years older than him, but still couldn't control my childish mind to go with him to pick red beads. When my little cousin visits my place, he brings a bag full of things including electronic parts, wood parts, boxes, buttons, beads, and toy vehicles. Recently he used to transport buttons using his plastic truck. So I decided to help him to collect some natural beads to transport using his truck service.

photo_2021-10-13_17-22-00.jpg

We had to walk few meters from our house. Even though he is shorter, he walks faster than me. It took 4-5 minutes for us to reach the tree. This tree was here even when I was small. Even in villages, Red Bead Trees are now rare. If you don't know them before, the red bead tree is a tall tree with pinnately compound leaves.

photo_2021-10-13_17-21-53.jpg
Pinnately compound leaves

It has a bright red small seed inside a bean. When the bean is dry, it explodes, and seeds spread away. The color of the seeds tends birds to pick the seed and they bring the seed away. This is how they spread away.

I taught this lesson to my little brother while he picking up seeds.

photo_2021-10-13_17-22-21.jpg
Dried bean with seeds

If we observe closely, there are plenty of attractive things even in a little space. I found some newly germinating seeds with different stages in one place. It was useful to teach the little one about how a plant grows.

photo_2021-10-13_17-22-11.jpg

He picked up seeds as much as he could. Not only that, picked up some beans and pulled some small plants to take home. There were hundreds of young "Red Bead Plants" there. He asked me "How long it will take to grow my plant as this big tree?". I explained to him how difficult it is to become a big tree. I gave him the lesson on "needs to grow a plant".

These few minutes gave him the opportunity to have a quick environment lesson.

photo_2021-10-13_17-22-16.jpg

After picking up hundreds of red beads we turned back home. One the way he used to ask names of different trees. I helped him with names and some stories around trees.

30 minutes each day like this would fill my tiered mind with happiness!


10% to SL-Charity

Sort:  

Nice post
Please visit my post I'm new on steemit

This post has been upvoted by @italygame witness curation trail


If you like our work and want to support us, please consider to approve our witness




CLICK HERE 👇

Come and visit Italy Community



Your hobbies are very different and interesting, of course they will provide a lot of freshness to your mind. Because the same work and routine a person gets bored :)

 3 years ago 

I don't know how long I can do them... ha haa

hi @randulakoralage great to learn about red bead trees from you. if I would be at your place I enjoyed controlling the RC truck than collecting the beads. pollination of these seeds is well explained by you.
#affable #india

 3 years ago 

we have trucks here

photo_2021-10-13_18-54-41.jpg

 3 years ago 

Thanks Arzum

I have used Maara during school time for counting and handicrafts. but never had a maara tree here. so I used seeds that someone else collected. 😒

 3 years ago 

what are you doing in BOI? 😅 same here. I used some other seeds. domba, anoda

came here through followers' posts 🙊. I could not see domba for a long time. 🙄

 3 years ago 

Elanga post eka දොඹ සොයා..🤣🤣

You have taken nice pictures.

 3 years ago 

Thaks Alex

Hi @randulakoralage,
my name is @ilnegro and I voted your post using steem-fanbase.com.

Please consider to approve our witness 👇

Come and visit Italy Community

Nice post thanks for sharing with us
#india #affable

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84