Relevance of the Durga Puja vibes: Then and Now [10% $ to BoI]

in Best of India3 years ago

Hello everyone, warm wishes on the occasion of Vijaya Dashami or Dusshera as you may call it, the day when Goddess Durga kills Demon Mahisasura, as the folklore is narrated in my part of India.

FBmKz8-VEAAeSRo.jpeg
Source

Interesting how time passes and with that the relevance of the Puja to you. My case, let me share with you people...!

While I was in primary standards, I remember going to my maternal grandparents place during Puja holidays. The things that would attract me most were balloons, jalebis and the beautiful idol of Goddess Durga. In the evening I would irritate my mother to get me a drawing book so that I could draw the idol which I had imprinted in my mind. Such were those days.

As I grew up a little, the sight of fellow children bursting crackers and gun toys fascinated me. I started demanding similar gun toys. Those were similar to 'desi kattas' as shown in Indian films and series. 😁😁😁 There were high risks that you could suffer minor burns while operating it. Thankfully I grew up unharmed.

SHAR.3918.328.1.jpg
Source A toy pistol

Around those early high school years, the pre-Puja market got flooded with a new type of toy-gun. This was the sophisticated Chinese version of our toy gun. It was called the 'air-gun'. That was quite popular among my friend circle. It was like we had upgraded directly from Java Phone to an iPhone. 😄🤣

Another important thing that comes to my mind is the monetary savings that I would manage to accumulate during Puja festivities. Relatives, grandparents would offer me and my cousins 100-rupee currency notes, super clean and sturdy with smiling Mahatma Gandhi featuring on them. I would save them in my earthen piggy banks. Interesting isn't it? How times have changed. How many of us have piggy banks today? The technological shift has happened real fast and in the blink of an eye. It has made the piggy banks go extinct. But I tell you what, those were a real sense of joy.. just like earning a massive upvote on Steemit today.

Pistols and air guns, piggy banks and savings find no relevance for me in Durga Puja today, but sweet Jalebis and different varieties of namkeens do. What also remains constant is my spiritual belief, that God is omnipresent, omnipotent and omniscient.

IMG_20211015_161611.jpg
Had Jalebis this afternoon

FBpLxBlVkAoX-Ci.jpeg
Source

That's all I bring to you in this random topical post.

Thanks for reading. Stay blessed.


10% rewards to @bestofindia

Sort:  

very nice diary sir. I also ate jalebi today.
#affable #boi #india

 3 years ago (edited)

Thanks for the sweet words @harmandeep2004

I also ate jalebi today

😁😁😁 Great.

Enjoy the weekend.

Hi @brahmaputra,
So long you were active here. Happy to see you again. You have shared beautiful pics of Maa Durga.
Happy Dussehra.

Thanks bhai. Happy festivities to you as well.

It's seems to be look like Your day is so good you write a beautiful diary keep posting.

This was not a diary.

Anyways thanks for reading

Thanks

Wow! I love jelebi it's looking mouth watering taste in this Navratri,I hope you enjoyed it by sharing w/ us...
Pls keep sharing your day & pls keep visiting & support my post too..
@brahmaputra
#affable

Sorry for being inactive. I hope to be regular and visit your posts.

Thanks 😊

Your jalebi is looking so delicious 😋 thanks for sharing with us
#india #affable

Thanks

you have reminded our childhood and how we used to live without the internet and mobile @brahmputra great post

Haha.. yes. Kids today won't understand 🤣🤣🤣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01