Reminiscing ...

in Best of India3 years ago
Today, as i woke up, I just wondered how our lives have drastically changed in the past one and half year because of covid. If i remember correctly, we had plans for today. We had been waiting for this particular weekend to travel. While we are on lockdown, I have started to miss long drives dearly. I used to enjoy it a lot I remember. Even dawdled with the idea of blogging about it. Unfortunately, never thought too much about taking it seriously.

Finally, I decide to just give it a try. So let me start with the first place i visited this year which was when we thought, covid is disappearing soon. And boy! we were wrong! As I went through my gallery to find out the first place I travelled to, I came across some beautifully constructed temples. I felt elated when I realised that I will be writing about this place because of how special it makes me feel. If you are a South Indian, you would have probably heard about this place called Talakadu. If not, please make sure to try and visit it when you can. It is stunning.

Leaving a few pictures here, just before i talk about this place.

image.png

image.png

image.png

I agree I couldn't do justice to the place with my pictures here. But if you see it in real, its absolutely breathtaking. This place is not only beautiful, its unique in its own way because of its history. Now I am unclear on who exactly built these temples. It could be the Cholas or the Hoysalas. But they say that there are more than 30 temples in this small town. Being situated on the banks of river Kaveri, which is considered holy in South India, finding temples on the river bank could be considered normal. But Talakadu stands out. All these temples were once buried in the sand! They are still being excauated and restored. Now that's something you don't see often. We know about the lost city of Atlantic, Dwarka which are supposedly buried under water. But this is buried in sand from the river which makes it a fun place for a picnic where you can just admire the beauty or enjoy the fine sand under your feet.

There is also a theory of why it is like this. Apparently, a long time ago, a pious lady put a curse on this land and the king that owned this land which went something like this, "Let Talakadu be covered in sand. Let Malangi become a whirlpool. Let the kings of Mysore beget their heirs" because she was forced to kill herself in this town. I can verify that the first one and the third one is true even to this day. I am not sure what happened to Malangi. I have always wondered about that. Probably something I could google tonight.

Now I don't know if I believe the curse is true because of my deep belief in science and constant erosion could explain the sand. But it is something that does trigger some amount of curiosity in me. Other than the temples, the city, as I said, is on the banks of river Kaveri. If water bodies make you feel peaceful, just sit on its bank and enjoy the sunset or go for a quick swim or take a Theppa ride like how I did!

image.png

Do let me know your thoughts on this and I really appreciate you spending time on reading this post. Take care.

T1.jpeg T2.jpegT3.jpegT4.jpeg
Sort:  
Loading...

All those pictures look very nice 😍😍.
#affable

Very beautiful pictures 😍
Nice diary. Keep posting😇

#affable #india

Thanks. Hoping to continue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60623.84
ETH 2572.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57