Contest: Write a Short Story Taken From Your Life | Friends Edition | Prize: 10+ Steem | Club5050

in STEEMITINLAND2 years ago

My first friend.

pexels-bess-hamiti-35188.jpg Source

It looked like an uneventful day. Hot African sun, noise from these new faces in my class I couldn't name yet, nothing remarkable.
I was wearing a straight below the knee dress which I admit, looked very much like a sack. It was to do till my uniform became ready. I wasn't happy to be wearing it but it wasn't what occupied my mind at the time. I had books on my mind as always. In fact, I carried one.
I forget the title now.

“ hey!' I heard a soft voice from a side. “Yeah.” I answered. Turning.
I saw a crisp white uniform. Immaculate and a tall girl with short curly hair looking me staight in the eye.
“So, I heard you're new to French.”
That was an understatement because I was at that stage of learning a new language where every word gets you giggling to the annoyance of the Monsieur. I nodded.

“it's my first time learning it. ” I added.

“well, if you need any help come to me. I'm the French Queen here.” she said with casual arrogance.
I laughed. She laughed with me.
“ I'm Emefa.”
“ Leticia.” she said. Still smiling.
And on this seemingly uneventful day, I made my first friend.

Sort:  

Wow🙂....I enjoy reading your entry

I'm glad you do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97