Contest: Write a Short Story Taken From Your Life | Friends Edition |by @raysdesign

in STEEMITINLAND3 years ago

Greetings to all great steemians,I want to
appreciate @abuahmad for always coming up
with a new banger contest.

PEOPLE ALWAYS LEAVE

The true sadness associated with the term "people always leave" is never fully discovered until one becomes a victim.

There was a time in my life I had almost everything at my beck and call. And with these luxuries came unsolicited friends: the ones I held close and those I merely treated as acquaintances.

First off, I am not even big at keeping friends because I learnt early the venoms that friendships-gone-south can leave in one's heart. But I was willing to take that risk with this particular one friend.

IMG-20210618-WA0021.jpg

IMG-20210618-WA0017.jpg

Fast forward to when tables turned. This particular friend excelled rapidly. And with same rapid intensity, this friend left what we had behind. I call several times, no response. I drop messages, no response. I attempt visiting, and meet dead ends. It was so clear the handwriting on the wall that I have been left behind, so I threw in the towel.

It is indeed painful, but I hold no single grudge. Rather, I am reflecting on the question:

"What do you do when you're cruelly left behind?"

And I have answered for myself:

I'll work... I'll work some more, I'll love even harder(because a dozen friendships-gone-south cannot blind my eyes to the beauties and humaneness in showing and exuding contagious kindness), I'll strive to be the best version of myself and pray to God that He brings only worthwhile people my way.

I have forgiven disappointments of the past, but then I'd be foolish if I learnt nothing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66521.28
ETH 3454.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67