the true ethics associated with streaming

in DTube4 years ago (edited)

I have a very conflicting view on streaming. For one, I think the whole donation and tip aspect is under-developed and absurd. I would love to know some stats on the avg age of people that tip and amounts. I am guessing that TONS come from kids that are using their parent's credit card.

I am okay with someone like Dr Disrespekt being entertaining, skillful, and making money from it. I am not okay with others that just inhale tips from people that clearly just want to buy attention... oftentimes, even worse, it seems like they THINK they are buying friendship. If these are adults. Fine. Lose on... But kids need to know that they should never tip/donate to anyone. But they will keep doing so regardless because of how luring it can be made by either a streamer or the promotes they see to suggest tipping.

Also, I am not a parent. But do kids need, often times (lets just talk twitch) need an additional adult in their life? One that acts/reacts like an adult? I don't think so. Kids need to learn to grow up. A beauty in that is retaining innocence on your own time. To me, adding lame adults thought to be cool because they are simply older, is very misleading. Right now I think these streaming services are a dynamic waste of time. An upgrade to options when potentially bored. Or something that can drive a desire to be in that state. When zero-latency interaction can be streamed between two users across the country, streaming will become actually valuable. Like if I can play drums or guitar with my buddy across the country with zero lag. That will be interesting mixed with AR's true potential coming to fruition.

What do you all think? Specifically, streamers that play video games and want to justify how they deserving think they deserve tips. If you're really good, you can make money from tournaments. If you are suggesting you are a valuable addition to a kid's life... a kid that is being distracted from actual friends or even using their head to play a game themselves, then I would love to hear your reasoning. But preface that with, I probably bet you are kidding yourself and know it.

Sort:  

Hello randycoin!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Screen Shot 2020-04-08 at 1.05.19 PM.png
skip rocks. whatever that page is, it doesn't exist. and (-9). Yeeks. Seems like I should ignore. Don't take my focus. To all, please focus on my questions if they interest you. Not this reply or the reply above it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.23
ETH 2521.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35