Bujinkan Hanbo Waza 表逆捕り Omote Gyaku Dori PreviewsteemCreated with Sketch.

in DTube4 years ago


From https://www.rojodojo.com A preview of my Bujinkan video exploring the hanbo waza 表逆捕り omote gyaku dori. First, we warmed up with a three distance striking drill with the hanbo. This striking sequence is not often studied in the average dojo.

I began class with 表逆捕り omote gyaku dori. This is a weapon retention waza. The opponent tries to grab a hold of your hanbo. Then you use this to trap him.

We started with the opponent using a honte grip. This waza is near impossible to create if you muscle the stick in any way. You must use good taijutsu and the created connection to apply the lock.

I showed three tricks that would not be obvious to anyone who has not studied this with a qualified teacher. Adding these into your taijutsu without forcing takes experience. It was a lot to understand, but I have high expectations and I know my students are capable.

Now for the easy part. I showed how to physically trap the grab to the stick with your own grip on the hanbo. Here is your chance to use muscle! It might work now if you are stronger than your opponent. But intelligent taijutsu will win as you shift your body and pivot to attack kasumi.

Next we changed to the attacker using a gyakute grip. I transform my kamae to 音無しの構 otonashi no kamae in an instant. The kyojitsu this creates opens a gap in the opponent's efforts. Then I can wrap him up in this 間 aida.

To finish, I let one end of the stick fall. The opponent's grip becomes a fulcrum. The leverage on the stick can be applied by gravity, a kick, or even the ground. If he continues to hang on, joints start to buckle in his wrist and fingers.

Of Note: Congratulations Jesse!


▶️ DTube
▶️ BTFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58148.81
ETH 2345.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35