Bujinkan 六尺棒術 Rokushakubō Jutsu kata 撃留 Gekiryu

in DTube4 years ago (edited)


In depth focus on the 六尺棒術 Rokushakubō Jutsu kata 撃留 Gekiryu. We warmed up with the basics of 足払 Ashi Barai and 面打払型 Men Uchi Harai Gata. I snapped a 1 3/8″ (3.4925 cm) octagonal bo in half. I was sad.

With 撃留 Gekiryu I demonstrated three variations of the basic form that I have studied over the years. The first version I demonstrated is not my favorite, but I try to let students decide for themselves. My job is just to present what I know and share the feeling that I have received from my teachers.

When you do this kata well, the swordsman never has a chance. He is either being attacked or kept at bay as the name of the kata suggests. My mind was a bit scattered tonight with the upcoming holidays, so sometimes my presentation was chaotic. But I think this fed into the proper feeling for the kata.

If the attacker starts in seigan with his sword, he is well guarded against anything you might do with your staff. So I emphasized that when you tsuki with the bo, you use a simple strategy that makes it very difficult for him to defend. Simply tsuki straight at the edge of his blade. He cannot guess which side to parry, because no side has been chosen. If anyone does this on you, you will find it strange how awkward you feel no matter what your skill with the sword.

Next, I showed a version of the kata I like. In this movement, there are no gaps for the swordsman to counter. And you really control the entirety of the kukan.

Then I shared a variation I learned from Hatsumi Sensei. This one uses kyojitsu of footwork to attack at oblique angles. The kata moves in all dimensions from 三次元の世界 sanjigen no sekai the world of 幽玄 yuugen..

To finish I emphasized the connection in the kukan. With this feeling, every moment is a strike. Your attacker is held as if under a net and surrounded. The principle of あも 一寸の玉 虫 amo issun no tama mushi is alive here.

Of Note: leaf spy


▶️ DTube

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58148.81
ETH 2345.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35