Biodiversity Challenge - Day 1 - My Favorite PlantsteemCreated with Sketch.

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago

Hello, fellow Steemit users. Plants and trees form a vital part of this Earth. They are one of the most important reasons for our sustenance. There are several different varieties of plants and trees all around us. They provide us with many valuable essentials. This contest on its very first day provides me with the opportunity to talk about my favorite plant or tree. So, I begin with my entry.

IMG_20210524_182556.jpg

My favorite plant is the Guava plant. Guava is very well known to all of us. It is a tropical fruit cultivated in many areas. This Guava tree is planted in my garden. It was planted when I was very young. this tree has grown perfectly fine. The guavas from this tree are few but considerably bigger. This tree withstood a lot of storms and heavy rains and still stands erect. I remember very well how much I used to play around there. Some kids from the nearby houses would sometimes try to steal its fruit. I was pretty adamant about protecting it so I often used to keep a watch over it when I was young. I sometimes even do that now.

Medicinal Properties of Guava and its Leaves

The Guava tree among many others has several medicinal properties, its fruits, and leaves in particular. Some of them are -

  • It helps in lowering blood sugar.
  • It helps in boosting and improving heart health.
  • It helps in relieving the painful symptoms of menstruation.
  • It is good for the digestive system.
  • It is helpful in weight loss.
  • It also has certain anti-cancer properties.
  • It is recommended for good skin.

Facts About Guava

Here are certain facts about the Guava plant -

  • Guava has 4 times more Vitamin C than Orange and also 4 times more amount of fiber than pineapple.
  • Guava has several edible seeds in it. They are almost between 100-150.
  • A Guava plant lives up to 40 years.
  • The wood of Guava is prized in the world for meat smoking.

Lastly, I would like to thank @thegreens for organizing this wonderful contest.

Thank You.

This post is set to 100% power up.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I think i know about the life span of a guava tree coz we had this tree that lasted over 20 years despite our entire community using it as a community play mate.
Some very interesting Did you know facts about guavas there with respect to Vitamin C and fibre content. Will learn more.
Can you please pick one of the medicinal properties or ailments you listed above and tell us how guavas are used to cure it?
Thanks!

In some places it is used for treating Diarrhea. Add the leaves and root of guava to a cup of boiling water, strain the water and consume it on an empty stomach for quick relief.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49