Steemit Engagement Challenge S4-W1 | My view on Cyber ​​Bullying - by @tiyum08

in Steem Cameroon2 years ago

Hello good evening to you all. I hope you all are doing good. First of all I will like to invite @mukadas @kataali and @illy45 to join this contest. I will also like to congratulate @steem-cameroon for this and thank them for bringing up such challenge.

What is your understanding on Cyber bullying?

6A42BA79-01CA-4C50-BBE1-5180C47441DE.jpeg

source

Cyberbullying has to do with sending or posting bad things or rumors about another person. It causes shame or embarrassment to that person. Cyberbullying is the point at which somebody, normally a teenager bullies others on social medias. The victim might lose respect from others. Most of my friends have been in this kind of situations. Most young people between the ages of 13-19 have been bullied online. Over 100% of teenagers, 99% of them are online and most of them have been bullied.

Have you ever been a victim or perpetrator of Cyber ​​bullying?

In senior high school, I was with my best friend. She was the only friend I had. I believed in her and she was there for whether rain or shine. We used to eat together, play together and also learn together. You know how senior high schools are, you can’t use phones there but we manage and hide them. We only use them in the dormitories and places where there is only students. My friend didn’t have phone so we all were using my phone. There was this one guy in our department. My friend liked him and was crushing on him.

She wasn’t that free with that guy. I was very free with the guy and we even use to play a lot whenever I see him on campus. My friend didn’t tell me she was crushing on that guy. She use to take my phone every evening after prep. Not knowing she texts the guy using my number. And she deletes every message with him. So I never knew but the guy taught I was the one. He started acting weird towards me and I didn’t understand.

One evening after prep, my friend texted the guy again and the guy warned her not to message him again. She keep messaging him.The next morning, I heard rumors all over the school. People were saying they saw my messages with the guy. I told them it wasn’t me. They showed me the messages and it was by name. He shared the messages to the social medias. He share it to his friends and our school platforms.

Give an instance (if any) wherein you or someone you know felt bullied in cyberspace, and what spiked such a feeling. (It could be throughout any social platform)

23DB79F8-7189-45B2-971B-7D060D894303.jpeg

source

People get bullied every day on social medias. Most especially on TikTok, instagram, Facebook and even on WhatsApp. We all have an account on TikTok. We post, like people’s post, comments on it and have fun. But mostly that is a place we’re we normally get bullied especially this our generation. They post people’s nude videos and rumors in there.

One posted my friend’s nudes pictures and videos. It was very embarrassing. He even tagged her so everyone can follow her account and see her picture. Most of us know her and it was really bad. It affected us self because that was our friend. The guy claims she was cheating. He tried to explain but still he wasn’t on the right point.

How did this encounter affect this said person?

I didn’t think it affected him. He was so proud of sharing the girl’s nude on TikTok. But it affected my friend. My friend decided to tell us all what happened. She said the guy was a scammer and he needed a lady’s nude picture to send to his client. He begged my friend to do that for him but my friend refused. He then threatened her by breaking up with her. She loved the guy so she decided to take that risk. We used to be with her all day and every time.

She told us that to went to the boyfriend’s place and they took that picture. It was on the guys phone. Then he decided to share it with friends and they also sharing till it reach TikTok platform. And the guy used his own account to post it. That was when people started to believe it. Last last they broke up.

How safe do you feel on Steemit? And have you ever felt bullied at any point in time? (on Steemit)

40911F73-642B-47C3-95B2-BC747018612D.jpeg

source

I feel safe on steemit platform. I don’t think people get bullied here. I haven’t also encounter such thing. This is the best and safest platform. It involves matured people. Nudes pictures or videos are prohibited 🚫 on this platform and it has helped to secure our lives. The account itself cannot be used by someone else because we all have our keys and our privacy.

What lessons did you gain from such a scenario? And what advice can you give to your audience?

I am here to say all what I have to say. I just want to advice is all. Please do not in any case send nude pictures or videos to your boyfriend claiming you love him. Be careful of the friends you have. Do not say this my friend will never do that to me. You don’t know when and how. Betrayal is everywhere.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hola amiga saludos, oye buena publicación, sabe en mi país hay un dicho que siempre lo tenemos presente en nuestros hogares, "son poco los verdaderos amigos que podrás encontrar pero si uno que nunca te hará daño y esa es tu mamá" en la vida encontrarás de todo solo hay que ser más precavido y tener un poco de malicia, el amor nos vuelve ciegos y a veces nos enamoramos de personas que no valen la pena y no te valoran y causan daño como ese chico que pasó la foto de la chica en la red. Suerte en el concurso☺️

 2 years ago 

Thank you and same to you

 2 years ago 

You have shared some horrifying bullying stories . I couldn't even Blockquote them to respond .

Good luck for this contest .

 2 years ago 

Cyber bullying is an act that let to a lot of emotional torture and I also believe that what that guy did to your friend was not right by sharing her personal information on the school platform
And also claiming she was cheating on him
I must say that am deeply sorry about that
But we all should not forget that steemit is the best social media platform and I believe using this platform, our personal information are safe so let us all enjoy our stay while using the steemit platform

 2 years ago 

Thank you dear

Not only has a negative impact on mental and emotional health, cyberbullying can also interfere with mental health, such as fatigue (due to lack of sleep), headaches, and stomach pains.

The bad news is that victims of cyberbullying are often made fun of by those around them. This can make the victim embarrassed to talk about the problem and ask for help.

I also share about cyber bullying, if you have time please take a look and I will be happy.

 2 years ago 

Ok done

Loading...

Wow this story is terrifying. So all this happened through cyber bullying, it is so pathetic. Cyber bullying has caused many people trauma a lot. Others do not want to share their opinion on social media platforms because of the phobia of being bullied and this is causing great harm than good most especially teenagers being the current victims is so bad. You have done well by attempting the contest. Goodluck to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87