The Importance of Breathing Excercises💪How Well you breathe is how well You Sound.

in Steem Cameroon3 months ago

Breathing exercises can be so hard and boring especially when you just begin doing them and also when you are doing them alone. But these exercises definitely yield results when you remain consistent at it.Some benefits of breathing exercises for singers include:

  1. Longer Phrases: Proper breathing techniques help singers control their breath, allowing them to sustain longer phrases and maintain consistent volume and tone. I remember instances when I would sing and my breath would not permit me finish a long sentence.I would get frustrated when this happens.But this changed since I started with the breathing exercises.

  2. Appropriate Breathing: Breathing exercises will help a singer breathe appropriately without making it so obvious that you are breathing.It helps you breathe at the right time when singing and using the right means.

  3. Increased Lung Capacity: Regular breathing exercises can increase lung capacity, giving singers more air to work with. This is particularly beneficial for performing demanding pieces that require extended phrases and dynamic control.

  4. Relaxation and Reduced Tension: Breathing exercises promote relaxation and reduce physical tension, particularly in the neck and shoulders. This helps singers avoid strain and potential injury, allowing for more effortless singing. This is particularly very important. Before I started breathing exercises when I reach a high note, I would bend my neck thinking it would help me hit the note but rather it hinders me from reaching it; given I am already tense.Once you are tense while singing, it affects how you sound.

  5. Enhanced Stamina: Just as athletes train their bodies for endurance, singers can train their respiratory systems to enhance vocal stamina. This enables them to perform longer without fatigue and maintain vocal quality throughout a performance. And you won't find yourself running through a song without conveying the message to your audience because your voice is not strong enough. There are messages that require very firm vocals to convey.You definitely need a firm voice as a singer.

  6. Overall Health Benefits: In addition to the specific benefits for singing, breathing exercises contribute to overall respiratory health and reduce stress, which can positively impact a singer's overall well-being and performance capabilities.

If you find it boring doing it alone, find someone you can do it with and I would also recommend Cheryl Potter’s Vocal exercises. She makes her exercises so engaging, interesting and fun.You should check her out.I hope this helps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62258.82
ETH 2427.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58