The Dairy Game /29/5/2024😇My online counseling session😇🔥

in Steem Cameroon4 months ago

Yes was so exciting, started off my day at 4am with Bible studies and by 6am got ready and step out of the house.Not forgetting to apply my sunscreen.

IMG_8680.jpeg

Headed straight to bambui for evangelism and it was a great experience. I love how green the place is. The population of bambui deals mostly with corn and moving around the area though on a sunny day, it wasn’t so hot. I guess the corn and trees around the area serves as carbon sinks, making the environment less hot and fresh.
Finish early and headed home since I took a day off from the office. And boom I had an interesting client get to me. I did a personal study in skincare and I am presently in a partnership with a dermatologist at Mbingo Baptist hospital. So this lady got to me saying she got my number from a friend and she really needs my help with something. I gave her a listening ear and the next thing she sent me pictures of her hands, legs and face bleached.I won’t post the face for privacy sake.Got her consent to post the hands

366f0b48-3c95-4d2d-915c-2b539a7c149b.jpeg

I understood it was a counseling session on skincare and I asked how I can help her .She began telling me of a moisturizer (mixed oil), no name (most of these mixed oils do not have names) she used that bleached her and gave her eczema. So when getting the oil, she told her vendor she does not want to get dark and the vendor assured her she was going to shine. And rather got her color bleached and tampered with. She expressed a strong desire to get back her natural color and asked which oil she could get for herself.

I started by telling her that being black is not a problem if that is originally her color.

IMG_8833.jpeg

IMG_8822.jpeg

And that changing your color does not make one beautiful and even if it does there are lasting repercussions to that action. Secondly there are things to take into consideration before getting a moisturizer for your skin which are; skin type, environment, the difference between skin brightening and lightening and not forgetting diet and hygiene which completes the package

All these properly checked would lead to a glowing and healthy skin.
I spoke at length on the first aspect which is skin type. For the record, there exist four (4) skin types which are, the dry skin, sensitive, oily and combination skin type. Clarified the concept many ladies have about using a moisturizer because your friend used it and you guys have the same color.Its not really about the color but about the skin type

Choosing to use a particular oil should be based on your skin type so that you don’t get to lighten, darken or bleach your skin. To every skin type there are those ingredients that are suitable to unclog the glow meant for your skin color. This is the reason why two dark persons can use one moisturizer, one of them gets bleach and the other does not get bleach, but rather just brightens their color.
Asked her to a get Gold Bond moisturizer and to always get products that contain hyaluronic acid, ceramides, naicinamide and of course lectured her on the benefits on the skin.

IMG_8540.jpeg

IMG_8611.jpeg

Made her understand that she would have to be patient and give time for her skin to recover from the damage. Encauraged her and made her understand she is lucky her skin barrier is not destroyed and so she can recover.

There are lengths some of these bleaching agents can take one to, which is impossible to go back to your original skin as a result of a broken skin barrier. Thus a broken skin barrier may not recover.

And you see a woman at her 40s and she looks hideous all because she taught shining (bleaching) was going to make her pretty. A mindset so many Africans, especially Cameroonians have, one that needs to be decolonize. Destroying your dark color to have the white one does not make you superior or pretty like so many say when going down the road of destruction.

One of the last things I told my client is this, “Within your color lies a well of beauty that needs only be unclog with the right ingredients. Thus your color is your identity, so embrace it”.

IMG_8739.jpeg

IMG_8741.jpeg

And that was the end of our counseling session.
Later in the evening, had family time with some follow up on how their day went especially those writing the Advanced and Ordinary levels exams. Had something to eat

IMG_9811.jpeg

followed my movies and personal hygiene 🪥 and went straight to bed.

Sort:  

This post has been upvoted through Steemcurator09


Newcomer Team Curation Guidelines For March 2024
Curated by @fombae

Note:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62040.10
ETH 2417.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58