THE DIARY GAME(13/12/22):MY DAY AT THE HOSPITAL

in Steem Cameroon2 years ago (edited)

Greeting to everyone one on this platform,I hope you are doing well.I made my first post few days after signing up which is achievement 1.Thank you @goodybest for verifying me and @imuniru38 for introducing me to this amazing platform.I write to share with you how my day was.So today I left early in the morning to go to the hospital(Diamed Hospital) where I'm doing my attachment.

IMG_20221213_080622_268.jpg

It took me about twenty minutes to get to the hospital as I was walking because the hospital isn't far from where I stay.
I got to the hospital greeted the night nurse and sat down to start my shift which lasted for six hours.

IMG_20221213_094432_463.jpg

My first patient is an old man in his 80's who is in for a review.I registered him on the system using his details on his hospital card.

IMG_20221212_120657_864.jpg

I took his vitals and forwarded it to the doctor then told the old man an amount he was supposed to pay before seeing the Doctor for consultation but to my surprise the old man immediately replied 'I won't pay whenever I go to Tamale Teaching Hospital (TTH) I don't pay for a folder as they always use the old folder from my previous visits'.I tried explaining the rules of the hospital to him which yielded nothing until an old staff who knew him came to my rescue.Some might be wondering why I am at the OPD instead of the scan room since I'm in to medical imaging.Well the attachment letter I presented to the facility stated I should gain experience in the ward,OPD and any imaging modality available.Back to my old man,once he was ushered into Doctors office I was call to do translation for him due to language barrier.From there I took him to the laboratory for his sample to be taken to run some tests.Though during consultation he stated he was fine and his response to questions confirmed it, but it's better to be safe than sorry.The next stop was the scan room where he was to under go a pelvic prostate scan.

IMG_20221213_092009_794.jpg

IMG_20221213_092310_053.jpg

From the scan all his organs where fine except prostate which appeared enlarged(53.2cm) as it was bigger than the normal (32cm) at his age.The normal size of the prostate depends on an individuals age.The sonographer who is also my incharge typed the report and then I submitted to the Doctor.
The next scan patient was a lady who looked pregnant from first glance.On her request form she was to do an obstetric scan,this type of scan is carried out on pregnant women.I was surprised when I couldn't see her uterus on the screen , the only organ my eyes was fixed on was her urinary bladder.I asked the incharge and was told it's a complex case.When I was finally shown her uterus part of it was covered by a mass.To top it off the uterus was so small(3.2cm)almost equivalent to that of a child.

IMG_20221213_092054_252.jpg

Her ultrasound image was suggestive of uterine hypoplasia which refers to underdevelopment or reduced size of the uterus.Mind you the mass in her uterus isn't the reason for her big belly but rather it's as a result of bloating.After I submitted her scan report to her I went back to the OPD to issue a few receipts.

IMG_20221212_120506_320.jpg

All that while with the lady's condition on my mind as it was my first time seeing such a case. I left the hospital around 3.00pm after we had closed accounts and handed over to those in the afternoon shift.

IMG_20221213_145020_010.jpg

On my way home I decided to buy fried yam as I haven't eaten the whole day.

IMG_20221213_145648_910.jpg
Thank you for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57544.69
ETH 3114.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42