Steemit engagement Challenge s8w3/Election in my country

in Steem Cameroon2 years ago
AddText_03-14-04.55.39.jpgdesigned on add text app image source

Hello friends,

It's so good to be here. This week's engagement topic is one very thing that affects the smooth running of a nation and thats one reason why I wouldn't want to miss sending in my entry. Election in my Country


Introduction

The word election simply means a generally accepted was involved in getting a person or people into an position of authority either political position or an office through a means of voting. The majority wins the election.

Generally humans conduct an election for a political office, an organization can conduct an election. But do you know that even in our day to day life we can carry out vote and decide what to do or what not to do? I remember back when I was still growing up at my neighborhood with some friends. I had 5 friends and we usually decide whose house to visit during Christmas by a majority demand, now that's an election in a small scale.

What do you think About the Election in your country
democrats-g628e2268a_1920.jpgsource

I am from Nigeria and in my country, for most of the political office available elections are conducted to get the a best candidate. Offices like the president, Governor, house of representatives and others. So yes, elections are done in my country.

Nigeria is a democratic nation, therefore, the voice of the people is meant to be heard. This voice is meant to be heard when the people cast their votes on the set day of election.

Every 4 years the current person's tenure on seat expires therefore an election is conducted to replace the person or maintain the person depending on the voice of the majority people.

Every citizen from age 18 is eligible to cast his vote as long as he or she has her permanent voters card(PVC).

But it is quite unfortunate that for a long time my country has never listened to the voice of the people there by making the efforts of the citizens null. Corruption has become the order of the day in my country during election.

What do you think about the electoral system in your country

The electoral system in my country responsible for conducting elections is called Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). This body was established in the year 1998.

They are responsible to make sure all the materials needed for the election is supplied at different election centers across the nation. They also give sensitization on how elections will be done. Sometimes, they go as far as bringing out machines just to aid a free and fair election. But is election in my country actually free and fair? Anyways, this year's election the system brought a machine called the BvAs to help voting and transmission of results. But guess what? The elections was finally rigged.

corrupt-g3fa6cf849_1280.pngsource

With my experience so far as a Nigerian, I would say that the electoral system is corrupt and everyone occupying the seat should be flushed out because they have failed the people.


How is it done in your Country

Election is my country is done every 4 years. This means that any office a government officials occupy is made vacant after 4years.

Registration of PVC ( permanent voters card) is done that same year, probably few months before election. So just Incase a citizen misplaced his or card or is stolen or wants to change location for voting has the opportunity to re-register for another PVC.

Candidates for the government offices and political parties begin their campaign towards the forthcoming Election by first buying a ticket which is outrageously expensive.

On the set day of election, eligible citizens for voting make their way to their biting centers with their PVC. Stand on the cheque and a Ballot paper is given which contains the political party and the candidate for that office. You make a tomb print in front of the candidate you choice and put it into the ballot box.

Is it transparent and fair in your country?

I laugh at the sight of this question. In Nigeria we have not experienced anything like a transparent and fair election. The voice of the people is not heard. The majority votes doesn't count because they will always find a way to get the victory their way.

So my answer is a big No.


Assume there is no fairness and effectiveness as far as election are concerned, what solutions can you Propose to ensure its been Carried out the right way

Well my solutions will be that one representatives from each political party contesting for election should be kept at the electoral center to monitor the election. And these representative should follows these people in charge of election to their office and monitor the results until it is sent to the local government.

Also at the local government office of the electoral body there should also be one representatives from each contesting political party to monitor the results brought in until it is sent to the head quarters.

I think this process is fair enough and would be transparent for all knowing that they have a representative at each of the levels of organization and collation of election results.


Conclusion

I have never been as interested as I was this year in the election of my country. And at the end they failed us all. I wish my country would have better leaders but how can this be?

I invite my friends to share their views on this topic. @lhorgic @ninapenda @tomisin

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

You have done justice on this topic. Is a pity that we find ourselves in this country where majority of the leaders are corrupt but that not withstanding we will not loose hope on the election process. I wish you good luck.

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much for your support.

Elections are designed originally to be fair but the reverse is the case in most countries especially ours but let's see how this on goes...

With my experience so far as a Nigerian I would say the electoral system is corrupt and everyone who sits in the seat should be thrown out because they have failed the people.

In my country, Venezuela, the same thing happens with the difference that the national electoral council is at the disposal of the government, which in the last elections was not fair, corruption predominated.

 2 years ago 

Exactly my point dear brother!
Am just tired of this matter but never the less we won't loose hope.

Hope is the last thing you lose.

 2 years ago 

Going through this post, I couldn't help be amazed by the wonderful writer you grow to be everyday.

Being a Nigerian and a PO of a certain polling unit in the very concluded election, I have no words to add as your work is on point. And what the Electoral body did is appalling and disheartening but in all we stand strong.

Thank you for this wonderful piece. Good luck and Congratulations.

 2 years ago 

Thank you my friend..

I must say it's so nice to see you again.
The topic of the day is a very serious one as it has lingered for some many years.

We stand strong just like you said! Thank you for your kind words

Election in my country Nigeria is always powerful. It takes a strong heart to come out just as the whole citizens did during the last election.

We pray that one day election in Nigeria will become free and fair. Thanks for the invite.

Best of luck!

 2 years ago 

I have been stylishly avoiding this particular topic but it's obvious I won't be able to run away from it as I need to far reality...

Election in my country is not fair and transparent. Permit me to say it has never been, hence the reason why people do not come out to vote during election.

The last one held just few days back really dashed the hope of nigerians. I hope the people come out in their number to exercise their Civic right once again.

Loading...

You have really done a great explanation of how election is done in our country, Nigeria. It's very very unfortunate that the people's voices are not heard or their choices respected. It's demoralizing I must say because going to vote our candidates is meant to be joyful but too bad, it's not in my country. The worst is this year's own but God will still disgrace all of them soon. Well done dear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60583.13
ETH 2342.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48