CREATIVE WRITING CONTEST VOL6: MY GREEN DEEDS THAT HAVE CONTRIBUTED TO A HEALTHY ENVIRONMENT

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago

Hello steemians!
Accept the warmest greetings from @paddykam. Before I proceed permit me appreciate @thegreens for their wonderful job in creating a conducive environment through their green deeds. Thanks for educating the community through your charitable clean up programs and the planting of trees especailly in schools. Thanks for giving me this opportunity to better express myself as far as the environment and it's protection is concerned.

There are activities of human on the environment that either affect it positively or negatively. Some persons do this conciousely or unconciousely.

20210621_162105.jpg

I grew up in a rural area where farming is the main source of livelihood. We will fell down trees in order to cultivate or do construction. We will burnt the soil in the name of "Ankara" for better cultivation of crops. Little did we know that the soil we are burning would lost it's texture and value in the process. Whenever the soil is burnt, crops do exceedingly well just for that planting season and the next season little or no crop production. When we fell trees indiscriminately without planting, we risk that plant specie and equally expose the soil for erosion.
Trees partly rely on carbondioxide (Co2) for their survival and on the other hand this co2 is a pollutant to humanity.

Man has affected the environment negatively through waste disposal. Plastic containers and bags have not only caused floading but has affected plant growth since their roots cannot penitrate the soil properly.

Haven know what human activity on the environment can do. I have been doing the following to minimize the wrong use of the environment :
I have grown up and with my little knowledge of geography, I have been doing the following within my immediate environment:
I have been planting trees in our village pinyin on hilly areas that are difficult to cultivate crops there.

20210621_131507.jpg

Areas that are suffering from erosion I plant eucalyptus to help hold the soil.
I have planted maize and beans around the house to help both for food and to purify the environment. This has helped in preserving the soil from runoff.
I have planted alo vera, lemon grace and many others that will help for medicinal reasons and hold the soil from runoff.

20210621_162134.jpg

I always make sure plastic containers are separated from organic wast and burnt immediately after use.

I have been joining my quater members in keeping the community clean and opening up road drainage for easy flow of water when it rains.

Before I conclude on this wonderful topic, permit me make a few recommendations;

The Government though the world environment day and desertification and drought should sensitized the public on the importance of planting trees in and out of their immediate environment.

For those who fell trees indiscriminately without planting should be educated on the dangers of their actions. The Government should put strict rules and regulations in the ministry that concerns forestry.
Instead of polluting the environment with waste, individuals should rather use the organic waste as their organic manue (composs manue) and burnt out the inorganic waste. And above all @thegreensand and his team should not relent their efforts in making the society a better place.
Thanks for reading and see you next week for another interesting creative writing contest.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

You must have been doing a lot of tree planting in your village Pinyin. Can you tell us the estimated number of trees you have planted ever since you were born?
I also realize you have a lot of green around your home and that you have been engaged in a lot of community service clean-ups.

Great job with sorting your waste but did you know burning plastics is the fastest way of releasing greenhouse gases into the atmosphere?
It's better to hand over your non-biodegradable waste to the waste management company HYSACAM.

Good ideas on the way forward for environmental sustainability. Remember, we must be the change we seek.
Great job @paddykam and keep living green!

 3 years ago 

Thanks for going through my write up sir. Am grateful. I have planted more than 1500 stems of eucalyptus with my father but I only own 250 trees. I know when I burnt I pollute the air just that the HYSACAM dust bin is not in my quater Mbessi in nkwen Bamenda. But I pledge to dispose of the plastics properly next time even if it means taking it to mile 3. Thanks for the correction sir

 3 years ago 

Great work you are doing, especially opening a drainage. Most roads easily get bad bc they lack it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54