Creative writing contest vol 4: The heart of my own.

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago (edited)

Life is not always what we think it is, nor will things always be the way we want them to be.

Christmas days are days where we have to celebrate with others and share, except for me.
To me i believe Christmas is day where we are suppose to enjoy the things we have never enjoyed before, and spend times with friends and families.

Waking up on one faithful Christmas morning i was so excited about, eating all the nice stuff my mum was going to make for us and afterwards go out with my friends for another round of enjoyment, i never had any little taught of how others could be doing not once did i ever think of how the homeless and orphans out there could be doing.

It was already around 11 am that we had just finished preparing all the food , and my mum asked us to go and bath and dress up in our best of dresses, that was so unlikely of her because she never tells us to bath on Christmas days that early, everyone used to bath out of the own free will. Well getting excited about everything that was happening, we then rushed to bath.

After bathing i was so hungry that i felt like i could eat two bundles of fufu without breaking.
Well on reaching the kitchen what i had craved for the most was being sealed in disposable dishes, and I had this bad feeling run through me immediately, everything had been scraped off the pot till nothing was left.

Then i felt the anger rising, when i asked my mum why everything was taken she told me it's for sharing, the question in my head was why should we share when it's Christmas day.

Later on my dad took us plus all the food they had packaged and worst of all , all the drink's plus the meat and fish they had fried.

Arriving our destination the first person i saw as i stepped out from the car where children of about 5to 8 years, they looked so shabby and dirty, and worst of all they all looked so pale liked they had not taken a bath for weeks and had not eaten for a long time.

Just a glanced at those children made my heart ache, they had their bones threaten them, like they where going to show anytime soon.
Immediately as they saw the food that we brought out of the car, the smile they where using to play with disappeared and they ran to us immediately and took the food from our hands with such eagerness.

As they ate i then recalled how much i was angry in the morning and then saw how selfish i was, as i watched the children. I saw how children suffered i saw the lesson my father meant to teach us that morning, just standing there i repented and took a decision to help every child saw, to look for a way to stop every suffering that those homeless children went through.

I then decided that i need to work hard to be able to afford , to help them. Leaving that place that day , as we went back home my eyes where cold with tears i imagined what would have happened if i had eaten all the food and then nothing was left to share, imagined how God would have punished me for being so selfish, then with all those thoughts going through my mind i then realized that with everything that happened in the morning God wanted me to learn something from it .

He wanted me to see that i could be able to help children, i realized that just by sacrificing my meal that morning i had saved a life .

With all those thoughts i was then called to eat, but then it seemed like i was in a trance , the anxiety i had in the morning to eat had all gone and the only thing going through my head now was how I could do to make up for lost times and years. I imagined how many children had died just because of hunger.

Since then i have been working on alot of projects to help the homeless, my dance crew and i have visited many orphanages, and many times i always take on my own initiative to bless someone who is in need. Since that one encounter i have carried a burden in my heart, a burden that i need to help someone somewhere.

Children are blessings but the homeless are always abandoned my many people and not cared for , i have been working on getting funding to realize my projects of opening a school and a home where these children can be cared for freely without being demanded from.

I also realized that this children don't have the opportunity to go to school that's why I want to give them the opportunity for a free education, the journey to this dream might be long but it will surely be realized.

Lesson
*Life is nothing if you can't show love to others.

*Being generous is a virtue we all have to adopt, they are alot of people suffering out there who need our help.

*Stop thinking about yourself and think about others, so many people are suffering and they need just someone to reach out to them.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

What a heart wrenching story🥺. But i am glad that your heart is filled with compassion to be able to empathize with those children. And to also help them with projects. You are an inspiration to all of us out here and I hope you get the funding to realise your dreams. May your burden one day be lifted.

 3 years ago 

Amen thank you very much for the prayers and i pray God should touch many young hearts out there too to be able to have compassion for all homeless children out there.

 3 years ago 

The highest joy one can feel is when someone is smiling because of you. U have wonderful plans for this homeless kids dear. And God will surely help you execute the plans.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13