Surprise or Promise, Which do you prefer - 04/06/2024

in Steem Cameroon2 months ago

Hello everyone,
It's a pleasure on my path to share with you all my entries in this week's contest which is titled "Surprise or Promise, Which do you prefer - 04/06/2024" which was organized by @chant. It is an interesting contest and I would love to drop my entry ASAP.

1000032445.webp
Source

Before we go ahead I would like to invite @m-fdo, @malikusman1, and @ruthjoe to join this contest in this community today and share their participation as well, I do hope to see and read your entries as well.

Have you ever been surprised or promised before? Share what or how it looks like.

Yes, I have been surprised before. On the occasion of one of my birthdays, I didn't even remember because I had no intention of celebrating it. I woke up said my prayers and then went out to do my normal daily activities.

While at the site where I was working, everyone was just looking at me and no one said anything or even reminded me that it was my birthday or even wished me happy birthday for me to remember.

1000032447.jpg
Source

The work was going on and after a while, they all stopped and left me alone to work when I asked they all said they were coming. I felt that something wasn't right but I couldn't lay my hands on what exactly is the issue.

As I continued working I turned and saw them with a cake well designed and they started singing Happy Birthday to you. I was so overwhelmed with joy because of that and suddenly tears of joy came out of my eyes.

It was indeed a big surprise to me because they didn't just wish me a happy birthday they also celebrated it with me for the very first time in my life.

How was your reaction to the surprise or promise? Expatiate

To be honest they took me by surprise because I never expected such a gesture from them at all. They didn't only remind me of my birth they also helped me celebrate it for the very first time.

I was so happy that I couldn't control the tears of joy that were coming out of my eyes. I felt so special on that day because things like this have never happened to me before.

The joy in me wouldn't allow me to stop thanking every one of them. I kept appreciating them until we finished the entire celebration and went back home. The joy was much and to be frank I enjoyed it.

Have you ever surprised or Promised someone? Explain.

Yes, I have promised and also surprised someone before. I will want to talk about the surprise aspect because I too was given a surprise of my life as I have explained above.

1000032446.jpg
Source

A friend of mine while in school lost his school fees to armed robbers. It was close to the exam period and he came to me and said he would drop out because he had no money to pay.

Without telling him a word, I went and removed all my savings, and the day he planned to leave the school, I called him to meet me at the bursary. When he came they handed over the receipt to him because he had to sign. When he saw his fees paid he was so happy and surprised.

That was how I was able to surprise my friend for the very first time and I was glad I was there to help when he needed the help.

Describe a scenario you were promised and it failed.

Yes, I was once promised and the stuff didn't work out later. Recently I met a man who promised to help me secure a job. I have been calling him and reminding him of it but he kept assuring me that he will do something about it.

Just a few days ago the list of those taken for the job came out and only a few were given this job and my name was not among them. When I called him and asked he told me that I didn't remind him again that he forgot and put in another person's name who called him and reminded him a few hours before the list was released.

Do you believe in the statement “a promise is a debt”? Expatiate.

Yes, I believe in the word a promise is a debt. It's always not a good thing to promise someone something without fulfilling it and that is why instead of making promises I prefer surprises.

If you want to do something for someone, don't promise the person because they person will always have high expectations as to what you have promised but if you take the person by surprise he will surely appreciate you for that single act.

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 2 months ago 

It's very true that some people get high hope whenever someone promised them something but on a second hand it was not supposed to be so, because we are all humans and we are bond to fail at some point.

That's why personal I don't trust people words, it's only their action I can act on.

I'm sorry about your fail job promise, I equally had such a failed scenario, a big family friend, a well to do personality in good standing in my state, promised me job on two occasions but failed me at the end.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59165.12
ETH 2617.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43