HE IS NOT A FRIEND

in Steem Cameroon21 hours ago

Hello! Steemian,

Trust you are doing well.

Do you have friends, or do you only have brothers and sisters?

Mama had prepared fufu and okra with fried Babalang fish. My beautiful family gathered to enjoy the delicious supper after a hectic day at the farm. While everyone was busy cutting and shaping their balls to swallow and gain some energy after a strenuous day, my junior cousin kept staring at me. She noticed that I wasn't eating.

"Mama, Rudolf is not eating," she said.

Mama replied, "Yes, I know he doesn't like okra. In addition, his GCE results have not been sent since he applied for them through MTN yesterday, so he's disturbed."

angry-2766265_1280.jpg
Image Source

"Hmmmm!" My cousin exclaimed as they continued to enjoy their meal.

A few minutes later, I heard a loud notification sound from my phone. As I rushed to check who might have sent me a message, behold, my results had just come in, and I made it.

"Oh yeah! I am so excited not only because I passed but also because I will be moving to the city, Bamenda town, to continue my studies."

I found a brother

Weeks later, I moved to Bamenda and decided to stay with one of my uncles who lived at Upstation. Almost every house around me had a gate, making it difficult to find friends; the ones from school were not around. During my second week of school, I discovered that almost every day on my way to school and back, I would meet this tall, slim guy. "He must live around here," I said to myself. The next day, luckily, I met him early in the morning again.

PXL_20240602_134417326.jpg
pixel 4 xl, 02/06/24

As we walked up the hills of Bamendankwe discussing, I discovered that he lived just a few meters away from our house. That's how we became friends, and our friendship has grown into a brotherhood today.

What's Friendship?

Many definitions of friendship start by saying anyone who isn't your relative or lover, whose company you enjoy. This guy changed my view of friendship. Some people might not believe it if I say we have been together for about 14 years but have never had a reason to quarrel. We might disagree, but always in a calm and respectful manner. This guy is supportive, trustworthy, and committed to seeing that we remain as brothers till the end of the world. Sometimes I deliberately stay far from him because I want him to learn how to do things without me. He can literally call my name more than a thousand times when we are together, saying nothing but just making sure I am around him. His empathy is endless.

boys-5630669_1280.jpg
Image Source

I will conclude with a question again: Do you feel more valued by friends of the opposite sex or the same gender? Why did you make the decision you just made?

Cheers!
See you in the comments section.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59634.64
ETH 2590.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47