Do What I Say and not What I Do

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago

Greetings unique steemians. I want to share with you something that is plaguing our society.
IMG_20211031_193201_584.jpg

Traveling to Yaounde Sunday 31/10/2021, I boarded Moghamo and as we kicked off for the journey, a guy came in to sell his stuff. The first thing he said was put on your marsk and he was not wearing his. He started his lecture on what he came to sell.

He was standing very close to where I was sitting. I noticed that his mouth was not dry and I politely told him to wear his mask because of Coronavirus. He gave my share of the cake🍰. I was very surprised because I reflected his first statement in the bus "wear your mask", this statement came to my mind "Do what I say and not what I do"!! Seriously, I got my share.

Lesson I learned from the incident:

The world is getting worst today because we have refused to do what we know is right but we are expecting others to do the right. This man trust himself to be coronavirus free and suspected everyday on board. He saw that we on board were the ones to wear masks and and not him.

You are not the true reflection of your word: many now live and practices totally different thing from what they preach. You know, this very statement came to my mind because I have been hearing this statement often in church. Many christians always find fault in a pastor whom they don't want to submit to by hastags him with statement. But this is nolonger the things of the pastors but our society is swimming in that pool more than the pastors if the hastags on them is true.

Positive impact is a rare commodity in our society: whatever you are doing, you are impacting someone somewhere. It seems to me that I was the only one in that bus who thought that because of the pandemic this man should wear his mask. This is because after his insult, no one in the bus stood to defend me or say what I stood for was right. He did his selling and left.

My take: I have learned to always be apt. To develop an attitude that will lead to aptitude. Many people lack aptitude that is why they are careless about what they say and practices. The best way to teach is by showing example and not lording over.

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)

#club5050 ☑️

 3 years ago 

Thanks Sir

 3 years ago 

Everyone has become a politician, it is a contagious bad habit which needs to be eradicated by all means. Putting to practice ones advise is never the case.
Thanks so much for this piece, it points out a huge problem which has always been underlooked

 3 years ago 

You are very true

 3 years ago 

I love your post so much and the take it has on how people act in our society. Corona is very much real and it saddens me to think people don’t take it seriously.
We as individuals really need to act better if we want the world to be better and we start by following what we say.

 3 years ago 

Amen, you are very true

 3 years ago 

My brother! That's our society today. It's like we are living in a cast society. And some rules and regulations governing only a particular set of people and not everyone. God is watching bro. But what amazed me here are the lessons you pointed out. Thanks for sharing, we will learn from this post

 3 years ago 

Thank you brother

 3 years ago 

Ooh... so sorry for that experience.. we are bound to always meet people like that. And i can only imagine, most of this peopletalk carelessly and spray saliva on people.

 3 years ago 

You are right, the saliva was terrible

 3 years ago 

Hmmmmmm
And to think that he was rude to you because you told him to do what he asked you to do is so bad. Society has made it very difficult for people to point out the wrongs in a leader per see, because of such reactions.
Sorry for the experience.

 3 years ago 

This is a great post. Very educative.
We should always do what we know is right.

 3 years ago 

Thanks Sir

 3 years ago 

U r welcome boss man

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62881.38
ETH 2449.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62