Creative writing contest vol:18: farming/ how is farming done in my community?

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago

Good morning dear Steemians, and special greetings to the @steem-cameroon representatives. I am happy to partake in this interesting contest of Creative writing organised by @thegreens. Below is my entry.

My name is ngongha precious , I am from the northwest region of cameroon , mezam division, santa subdivision and precisely from awing village.

IMG_20210817_105800_551.jpg
picture credit by @ngongha
above is a how which is the main farming tools and those are the ridges been formed by my self

HOW IS FARMING DONE IN MY COMMUNITY?

The type of farming carried out in my community is called the intensive subsistence farming.
Farming is done by tilling the soil and transforming it into ridges and forrows. Crops are been planted on the ridges while the forrows are used as footpaths inorder to avoid the destruction of the crops when walking. Different types of crops can be planted on the ridges. Crops which can be planted ranges from maize, beans groundnut, cocoyams , cassava, etc.
This way of farming is beneficial to the community in that it can contain several crops which will always make the soil not to loose it's fertility.

The subsistence farming is mostly for consumption and just a few is used for sale.

WHAT TYPE OF TOOLS ARE USED FOR FARMING IN MY COMMUNITY?

There are a plethora of tools being used for farming in my community. We use tools like cutlasses, hoes, water pumps , organic fertilizers, diggers and mini axes to fell down trees.

Thank you for reading my contest . I wish all participants the utmost best.

GOD BLESS YOU ❤️

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Good.
What i usually enjoy from your community is irish potatoes.

 3 years ago 

Yes especially in santa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63122.79
ETH 3119.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86