How to grow tomatoes in the dry season//by@nanc 09/12/2021

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago (edited)

Greetings to my fellow steemians, hope everyone is doing great? Today I will be teaching us how to grow tomatoes in the dry season, I will be using the method I always use,
Inorder for me to grow tomatoes I started by going to the market and get healthy tomatoes were I can remove the seeds allow it to get dry. After drying it I look for a big bucket and filled it with ground and manure. I use manure because I want it to grow healthy. When my ground and manure are ready I can now add my dry tomatoes seeds and water it. I continue to water it for three days before the seeds will start geminating and in a month's time they are ready for transplant.
Before doing my transplant i look for a particular place, soften the ground and water it since it's already dry season and places are very dry. After watering it I do spotting(I put manure on the various holes I intend transplanting)the manure could be that of a pig or cow depending on the one u can access. And it helps for fast and healthy growth of the tomatoes.
When my tomatoes has been planted I continue to water it inorder for it not to be affected by the dry season but I will be doing that every after one day so that it can grow very fast and watering it everyday could cause it to remain in it's comfort zone and not want to grow.
In two to three weeks time it has grown in such away that I use a razor blade to trim the leafs so that there will be enough space for it to grow very well while I still continue to water it and in a month's time I will be attaching sticks to it since the sterms are not powerful to carry its self and it's fruits. The sticks help the plan from breakage.
In the process of nuturing the tomatoes to grow, it's being destroy by insects so what I do to fight against this is to purchase insecticide were I use to spray on the tomatoes in order to kill and protect it from the insects.
After one month three weeks getting to 2months my tomatoes will start bearing fruits. While it's bearing fruits I continue to protect it from insects, trimming the leafs as it bigger and supporting it with sticks and robes inorder for it not to break. I continue with this three processes and watering for about a month again until my tomatoes fruits are ready for harvest. Through this process my harvest is always great.
Thanks very much for reading hope u learn something from it.
tomatoes-g9545f4643_640.jpg source: Pixabay.com

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

@nanc that’s some farming skills you got there
Thanks for sharing

 3 years ago 

This is a really great educational post u have here. Thank you for sharing this with me and whenever im chanced, I will try this method of growing tomatoes

 3 years ago (edited)

Thanks very much deary wish u could try it one day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56690.25
ETH 2380.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33