Creative writing: “PEACE” IS WHAT WE WANT

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago (edited)

It was a bright morning in the year 2016 when a sudden feeling of fear woke me up from bed. We were in the second term of the school year and I was in lowersixth studying sciences precisely at the Government Bilingual High school Ndop ,ngoketunjia division in the North west part of cameroon. That was the only school year where-in my father bought me four pairs of uniform ,he’ll usually buy 2 and bought me a new school pullover. Oh yes!! I had just passed my ordinary level and was a second cycle student and being a second cycle student I had to be a good example to the first cycle students. I had passed my ordinary level exams and with good grades that made me feel extraordinary, living from the first cycle to the second cycle was like living an ordinary point of life to an extraordinary point. Back then being in the second cycle was swaggish ,it was like your legs don’t touch the floor when on campus ,coupled with the respect which was given to second cycle students by the first cycle students. The second cycle students were been looked upon as the “gods” of the school campus as they were part of the school government without their assistance the school government won’t function efficiently and effectively.
It was on a Monday morning when I woke up from bed with a strange feeling ,a feeling I’ve never had before. I did my house chores slowly and was almost late for school before living the house my mom had to scold at me ,my dad had to take us to school but his car broke down just before we got out of the gate ,this was strange for it had never happened,I had to board a taxi to school I arrived school late ,as a second cycle student who was campaigning for prefect-ship my principal scolded at me and almost had my ass beaten infront of my juniors at school I had to beg him ,he permitted me to go to class. As soon as I got to the class door my maths teacher was in class (Mr Asah Bruno Mbakwa) I’ll never forget that day, he asked me to either take 5 painful strokes on one palm or stay out of class it was difficult for me to make a choice. I thought for a few seconds and decided to take the strokes ,he went to his table got the cane and as he drew close to me I began sweeting looking at the fear in my eyes alongside my interest of taking the strokes and attending the class he pitied me and asked me to get into class. As the class went on ,our further-maths teacher came to class and called out the teacher. Before living the class all he said was “stay-put ,I’ll be right back”. We waited for about an hour and he didn’t come ,we were all worried. As the class coordinator I had to go to the staff room and check on our teacher ,when I got there I saw no one I proceeded to the principals office and found all the teachers of my school standing in front of the principal’s office ,I ran back to class and told my mates what I had seen in surprise they all went out of class and when the other students saw them in a group going to the principal’s office they got scared that maybe something was happening ,in about 20minutes the school campus was full of students moving helter sketer ,the decipline masters tried sending them back to class to no avail the principal asked them to go home ,I went to my maths teacher and asked him what the problem was and he told me the teachers were on a strike. I went home ,explained everything to my mom ,told her about the feeling I had in the morning and everything that had happened. The following day ,that was Tuesday we went to school all teachers were present but non came to class we stayed in school till when it was time to close without getting to attend any class. On Wednesday I felt reluctant to go school my friends who went to school came back earlier than they were supposed to close . On Thursday my dad told me that the strike has been made ensational in all parts of northern Cameroon, that a match past has taken place in Bamenda and that a man named Mancho BBC had made a statement and created a scene with a coven that called for attention and cause riot. THIS WAS WERE IT ALL BEGAN....
The following week we din’t go to school ,two weeks after ,schools didn’t resume when they were about writing GCE exams student registered and were writing. One day we heard that a student was kidnaped the following day the hand of a form 5 student was cut by unknown gun men ,this was so heart touching ,some people who had registered gave up in the process while those who could pull up in fear continued ,finally that whole year I didn’t go to school I was so depressed. The following year things didn’t go back to normal all the students who did well during the first term of the previous year were all promoted to the next class. Without learning anything in lowersixth ,I was now in uppersixth I had alot ahead of me since I was going to write the advanced level we would go to school on some days and other days they would say it’s ghost town. We couldn’t learn with a free mind there was a day we were sitted in class and my chemistry teacher got a call before he could end the call a student shouted from behind “I just got a text message informing me that the enemy was heading for our school” there and then ,we all picked our bags we didn’t border to use the gate everyone jumped over the fence I ran as fast as I could when I got home I was thirsty and famished I drank cold water and had some rest later that week there were no schools for about 2 weeks. That was how it continued till when we got to the time of the GCE exams thanks to God almighty we wrote the exams with no disturbance. Monday been made a ghost town day where no business places are supposed to open ,everyone is supposed to be indoors and now the week begins from Tuesday. Since then till now the country hasn’t been stable except for the southern part of Cameroon were there is little stability. Children now go to school in clothes some put their uniforms in their bags and change when they get to school ,some have dropped out of school ,some have been killed. Gun shots here and there everyday. There are people who have lost their brothers ,sisters and even parents in this struggle our ,some people have lost their homes. Children would go to school and don’t returned ,youths mourn everyday in silence..... All we want is PEACE ,we need PEACE ,we pray for PEACE in our country every blessed day. I ask myself when would this come to an end. I pray there come a time when this would have to be history when our children would have to study this in school as part of Cameroon history.
We need PEACE...
True story!!!!
Fellow steemians I write this post to bring awareness to us all ,there are some of our brothers and sisters who are preveledged not to have gone through all this suffering ,they are there in the other part of Cameroon living their lives peacefully watching over the news how we suffer each day ,like they saying goes “experience is the best teacher” we have have to go to school only through patience, perseverance, and dedication. The youths are the future leaders of tomorrow ,what becomes of the future with our youths dieing.
We all should please include Cameroon in our prayers each day.

Thanks to @the-greens for this beautiful contest ,you’ll should please join me to pray for peace in Cameroon. Courage to all steem-Cameroon admins.

935F6C1E-5D8A-44D5-BE17-BCE6DAF94CFE.jpeg

5E2709E3-7CC4-497D-BE0A-E1C40F2229F8.jpeg

AF9941A5-6629-4FAC-89DF-8654FF8B95D6.png

826E9D3D-CD1E-4967-8DE8-B331D6394153.jpeg
Source of photos :Facebook.

@saxopedia
@fombae
@njiatanga
@tifuh

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Moving from secondary to high school gave me a nostalgic feeling of my high school days but after these beautiful feelings, i had to walk through the horrors of education in the English speaking regions of Cameroon. Its a very long road we have traveled and we all wish and pray for peace to return. Our faith and actions are strong for peace to reign in our region.

Dios todopoderoso toma el control de Camerún y África, cubre con tu sangre preciosa a los jóvenes y niños para que seas tu el escudo de cada uno de ellos y con tu luz impactes a los gobernantes de esta lejana tierra

 3 years ago 

Thanks very much @crisch23
Amen to all your prayers
We really pray the God intervenes and heal our land.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62966.47
ETH 2631.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79