Steemit Engagement Challenge S4-W1 | My view on Cyber Bullying - by @nadeesew

in Steem Cameroon2 years ago

I love myself to the moon and Back.jpg

Hello dear friends,

First of all I would like to thank the community for giving this chance to talk about a most important topic nowadays. I'm really happy to join the engagement challenge season 4 in this community. So let me get on to the topic in my way.

nadeesew line.png

What is your understanding on Cyber bullying?

Cyber bulling is a severe issue which people get their personalities damaged as a result of technology. The technology has been developing since few years. There are many advantages of technological advancement. But cyber bulling is one of the disadvantages that people experience due to technology.

Cyber bulling is moslty popular as it can be done anywhere anytime in cyber space. Cyber bulling can effect a person mentally and physically. Specially youth is subjected to cyber bulling. Cyber bulling has caused human deaths and physical injuries that were done to suicide oneself. Cyberbulling is very severe than being face to face victims of bulling. Cyber bulling never comes to an end until the cyber security is high. So it is very difficult to arrive into solutions and the victim may be bullied by many people due to its nature.

In most Asian countries cyber bullling can be seen very often. This is due to lack of cyber security. there is no difference in people subjecting to cyber bulling. Children, adults, men and women subject to cyber bulling in many various ways.

nadeesew line.png

Have you ever been a victim or perpetrator of Cyber bullying?

I have never become a victim to cyber bulling and I thank god for making me free of that psychological disaster. But I have seen my firnds, collegues and even my members in the office staff getting subject to cyber bulling sometimes as a result of their faults and sometimes facing revenges by outsiders.

Sometimes I advice them in the way I can and sometimes I send them to an experienced person who can lead the victims.

nadeesew line.png

Give an instance (if any) wherein you or someone you know felt bullied in cyberspace, and what spiked such a feeling (It could be throughout any social platform)

One day in my office there was a lady who looked very sad. As the team leader I always look into my team members and help them whenever they want me. We had a small get together party in a nearby hotel and she refused to come. I thought it was her financial issue that she refuse to come up with. But I still found her being so silent and less conversations. Unlike other days she was not concentrating on my meetingds and my orders.

I felt that there should be something wrong with this girl. Then in the tea time break I went to her and tried to speak with her. She was shy even to take her mobile phone out or even to browse the internet. zShe was struggling to speak with me. I just spoke with her some interesting things but she was always talking about negetive things and about being suicided. I thought she is having depression. But it was not that.

Suddenly she started crying and I let her finish crying. Then I strengthen herself and encourage her to be confident. Then she started her story. She had a relationship with a boy and with time being they separated due to mismatching. Then again she had another relationship which she still is having. Now suddenly her ex boyfriend has sent her a message via facebook messenger that he is sharing their relationship photos with her new boyfriend.

Then after few days her ex boyfriend has shared those photos in facebook and those photos have started to share by many people. She is having a fear that people will start looking at her in a wrong way. This had happened not because of her fault but because of having a closer relationship with an unhuman person.

At this moment many people have seen their photos even her relatives, neighbours and friends. I had nothing to do with that. I tried to develop her self confidence in facing these types of challenges and I explained her that this is not the first time the world having this situation and also she is not the first victim of the world being cyberbullied.

nadeesew line.png

How did this encounter affect this said person?

I think this situation has made her suicide as she is unable and shy to face her friends, relatives and even the neighbours. Even her parents have faced many issues. her father was hospitalized due to high blood pressure and mother is always blaming her. Her best friends are also not talking to her. I think she has faced the worst situation.

She is alo mentally down now. She has stopped gathering with friends. Not actually talking properly with others. She also has lost her positive thoughts and always talk about death and suicide. Now she feels angry with other very easily specially boys.

I have a fear that she will adict to drugs and alchohol as she is a non alchoholic. To forget everything that she faced she always talks about drugs and how the drugs help her forget things. She is always in her negative mindset. I feel she has lost her personality mentally and physically.
nadeesew line.png

How safe do you feel on Steemit? And have you ever felt bullied at any point in time? (on Steemit)

Steemit is also a platform creared in cyberspace. But I feel secure in steemit. As long as the keys are secure I feel ok. The content that we create in steemit is not harming another individual. So that it doesn't hit to a person. The security that we have in steemit and there we have our steemit team to handle the platform.

We do contests, engagement challenges like this and diaries etc.. These articles are original and original users create those quality content. There are many things that we can learn from steemit. So as long as the keys are secure I feel free here in this platform.

nadeesew line.png

What lessons did you gain from such a scenario? And what advice can you give to your audience?

I have good experience in steemit rather than unpleasent experiences so I have good ideas about steemit. I have an advice about cyberbulling. I prefer having a high cyber security in cyberspace without leading to cyber bulling. I advice specially female to be self confident as we cannot stop cyber bulling. People should understand about the mentality of a victim of cyber bulling and help the person to get over it.

nadeesew line.png

This is the end of my post. I invite my friends @mrsokal , @nadiaturrina and @chant to take part in this challenge. Thank you for reading. Have a good day.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

It is sad to read about the girl. But this type of bullying is the cause of mistakes by both sides.

This had happened not because of her fault but because of having a closer relationship with an unhuman person.

I agree, and plus not too much closer relationship is better untill you get to know that you are not mismatch. But this is an unhuman activity done by her ex. I agree he is wrong, and much wrong.
What happened after that, do you know about her?
What's about her present relationship?

And yes steemit is best platform to use as a social media. Where real people and supporting people are users.

You are true dear steemit is the best place

For most females, cyberbullying makes their lives miserable.

 2 years ago 

Comparto tu opinión sobre la seguridad y confianza en sí mismo que debemos tener, para no dar espacio al acoso. Exitos en el concurso

 2 years ago 

hmm really really terrible situation. i can really imaginge that breaking up with someone then the person sharing your photos on facebook and maybe nude images again where they can't be deleted later 🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️ cyberbullying is really very bad🤦‍♂️.
Great write up.

There are many more terrible situations in the world which are still silent sometimes

 2 years ago 

the world is really terrible

It is so cruel how this is becoming a huge problem in our society today. You are right, this people are out there causing problems on different social media platforms and tarnishing the images of innocent people through the act of cyber bullying. We must take caution and be very careful of things we share online. Thank you for your advice friend.

 2 years ago 

Cyber bullying is a babaric act that can easily led to depression but I also believe that we can stop posting our insurances on other net work because our hater can easily take advantage over it and I also believe that we have to do everything humanly possible to stop every situation like this.

I also want to led you know that steemit is the best social media platform andwit it our personal information are safe with all indication and we are safe from everyone threat

 2 years ago 

Hello friend and welcome to the contest, I'm very sorry about your friend it's not easy when your past comes back to cause you harm in the form of someone you once Loved.
Your friends experience was sad, and anyone who survives such bullying is a Victor.
Thanks for sharing, I wish you luck.

 2 years ago 

It's unfortunate about your friend, I don't understand why there are bad people, many times men don't understand when a relationship ends they should move away and each one make their own life.

That kind of thing like your friend's should be reported immediately for the police to do something about it.

Loading...
 2 years ago 

I feel so bad for that colleague of yours, I can only imagine what she's passing through. Bullies are monsters and we all need to be social networking smart! Thanks for sharing the experience with us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65