The Green Deeds. Sensitisation program on the Covid-19 pandemic in Nkwen and Up station.

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago (edited)

My name is Mundi Franklin, I am a model and a student at the University of Bamenda. Talking about giving back to the community that raised me, I will say nothing because what I have can't amount to anything if it were to be compared to what my community has done for me. Last year with the outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic, I did some work by trying to keep the members of my community safe in whatever way I could. At this time, this virus was a great threat to everyone but still the, inhabitants of Nkwen Bamenda still took it lightly, so I decided to join Mboko Gang and together we did this campaign. It was on a Saturday morning when we all gathered at Foncha Junction, discussed for some time, put on our face, sanitized ourselves and then kicked off with the sensitisation program. We moved around with with little bottles of hand sanitizers together with face masks which we shared to the people as we walked around telling then how deadly Coronavirus is. We covered a great distance and by noon, we had some shortages since the face mask and the sanitizers got finish. Here are some pictures
ateyi76_20210620_054431_3.jpg

ateyi76_20210620_054431_4.jpg

ateyi76_20210620_054431_1.jpg

ateyi76_20210620_054431_0.jpg
It actually went well since the population was very responsive. This was in May last year.
Later that year, in August, I still went out for another sensitisation program and this time I did it with my colleagues in the modelling field. There was a great increase in those who had contracted the disease so we saw another need to help the population stay safe. We all made sure we were free from this virus then we went out to help others. This time we went up at station to do the sensitisation. We walked around telling them about the virus, sharing face mask and hand sanitizers to the inhabitants of station.
ateyi76_20210620_054401_0.jpg

ateyi76_20210620_054401_5.jpg
These days are very memorable to because Eventhough we had shortages with funds to continue this program which we planned to do every month, at least we did it and for sure sensitized over 500 person's. Look forward to continue this project once we get funds to continue because I still feel like the population needs this since the number of infected person's is on a great rise as reported by CNN.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Service to humanity remains the greatest walk of life. COVID-19 brought global tears and we are only fortunate in Africa that the disease isn't claiming lives as compared to how negligent we are.
It's good to know #MbokoGang has the community at heart.
Keep doing the little things you do and if more young people could serve like you, we will have a better Cameroon

 3 years ago 

Thanks 🙏🏾

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88