I AM PROUD OF WHO I AM

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago

I can now say I AM PROUD OF WHO I HAVE BECOME, not because I am from the NORTH WEST, but because the people of North West showed love to my grand parents.

FB_IMG_16154923576454930.jpg
My village of origin is Mbouda in the West region of Cameroon. My grand father (my father's father) was an ex fighter who defended the side of the colonial masters during the second world war in which he survived the. He fought out of the country, and when the war was over he moved back to his village in Mbouda, West region of Cameroon. He had 3 wives and they all lived happily till the UPC crisis began. He had fought the global wars but the UPC crisis was something else which forced him to move together with his family to the North West region of Cameroon, and he settled down in Santa in the Mezam division with Bamenda as it's headquarters. When he got to Santa in early 1957, he knew no one there so he had to walk around asking for help and a place to settle from the local inhabitants there. The people were very good to him and gave him a very big piece of land to settle on. My grand dad settled and started a new life there in Santa. As time went by, he started speaking the native language of the Santa people and also learned the culture of the grassland tribes. He became very comfortable there to the extent that he refused to move back to Mbouda when the UPC crisis was over. He gave birth to and raised the majority of his children there and most of them intermarried with the Santa people. My grand father later died in 2005 at the age of 112years old and requested that he be buried in Santa. He never visited Mbouda for a long and so did his wife and children. They all just enjoyed Santa and never had any sort of disputes with anyone. Even my dad, got married to my mom who is from Santa.
Hearing this story as I grew up really triggered something in my heart about the people of North West, and since I have never been to Mbouda nor have any close family there, I regard the people of North West and Santa particularly as my family and I too can beat my chest anywhere like King Kong and say I AM PROUD OF WHO I AM, for the people of North West are LOVE IN PERSON.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Yess Northwest truely is caring and loving

 3 years ago 

Real fact

 3 years ago 

Mon frere du village
Giving tributes to who deserves it is one quality we lack, you did well recognizing the North West

 3 years ago 

Thanks bro

 3 years ago 

We should really be proud of who we are

This post has been rewarded by @saxopedia from @steemcurator04 Account with support from the Steem Community Curation Project."

Keep posting good content and follow @steemitblog for more updates. Keep on steeming as well as improving your content to get more attention. Thank you, Steemit Team!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57500.86
ETH 2337.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36