Beautiful day

in Steem Cameroonlast month

Steem greetings everyone! I hope we're all doing great.

Today, Monday, May 27th, 2024, Bamenda was a ghost town as usual since the crisis began. I did laundry, cooked some vegetables, and we had them with fufu corn. Then, I revised the lessons I was going to teach the children. I also boiled some beans for tomorrow.

At 3 pm, the kids started setting up their chairs, and at 3:30 pm, we began with songs sung by the youngest children. At 4 pm, we started our lesson for the day, titled "The Power of Hard Work in Success."

20240527_174130.jpg

In this lesson, I shared some ideas about hard work and success with the kids. I helped them understand that there's no such thing as luck when it comes to achieving success. It's all about hard work. We discussed the power of discipline, the importance of finding what they love to do, and learning how to do it well. I also encouraged them to keep seeking better ways to improve on that skill once they find it. Additionally, we talked about the importance of having a mentor or coach.

20240527_175918.jpg

I gave a presentation on the subject for about 45 minutes, and the participants took turns presenting on stage as a way to practice their communication skills.

Once every participant presented, I gave them feedback on what they did well and what they could improve on. We had two new students today, both female. One is a second-year student at the University of Bamenda, and the other is a high school student.

20240527_180902.jpg

After our session, one of these children's parents told me that the sessions have helped her three children greatly because they feel comfortable sharing their ideas even at home and during prayers.
She also promised to always make us food during our Sunday reading sessions with the children.

20240527_180908.jpg

Another parent called me to his house and told me that he loves what I'm doing with the children and that it's impacting them greatly. After that, he handed me some money as encouragement for the work I do with the children. I was surprised and very happy that the impact is beginning to be felt.

One of my neighbors who is a lecturer at Fonab Polytechnic Bamenda, told me he is very impressed with the work I am doing with the kids. That he wishes he had this opportunity growing up. He also said someday the kids are going to appreciate it more.

All these compliments and motivation fueld my desire to do even more!
They gave me a feeling of fulfillment and that is what I aim for in all my actions. I want to use the little I know so far to put a smile on someone's face.

There's nothing like doing work that gives your life a sense of purpose and meaning. 🙂
20240527_174801.jpg

Sort:  
Loading...
 last month 

As it is often said, "From little, big things grow." I remember when you started this initiative. Courage bro.

 last month 

Thanks a lot brother 🙏

 last month 

I love it when I see such.This is a lot you are doing for these children and the community at large.With such teachings the children are able to reflect as early as now, which affects their everyday decisions. like the saying goes Your aspirations of tomorrow determines your today To say when you have aspirations for tomorrow, those aspirations would shape your today.
More grace

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57899.97
ETH 3059.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29