THE DIARY GAME SEASON 3 or my daily routine of Washing my baby's reusable nappies or the effects of disposal diapers

in Steem Cameroon2 years ago

Greetings to steemworld!

Introduction


Being pregnant and expecting a baby or babies can be the most amazing things that happens to any woman. Though not all women are opportuned to experience such Joy and feeling of carrying your little selfless baby in your womb. I pray every woman I know out there get to be blessed with the fruits of the womb.

Pregnant women aside from taking antenatal seriously also take into consideration the type of dresses and undies their babies should use after birth.

On my part, I do my pre natal baby shopping myself and for undies like nappies I always chose the reusable environmental friendly nappies. A dozen of reusable nappies in my area for the good quality is estimated about 6 SBD. I usually get two dozens and lid like buckets for their storage too.

   Routine washing of baby reusable 
  nappies

I'm happy to say I have used reusable nappies for all my three kids. When I gave birth to my first son, way back in 2012, we never even had much finance to budget for diapers but I was glad I started my child bearing using reusable.
For my second son, I still bought reusable nappies though most of my neighbors will laughed and make mockery of me . Some said teachers are cunny and look for every opportunities to save money. They thought I was a hyperbolic being who works from Mondays to Friday but yet still washes nappies instead of saving time with disposable diapers which they sat at home and did nothing but used them. I was opportuned to talk to a friend who cared to listen that diapers are not environmental friendly and I really don't like walking around seeing diapers dumped everywhere and everyday and still partake in polluting my environment. That was my own little way of not adding to pollution.

On welcoming my third baby, I still didn't hesitate buying my resusable cloth nappies because I love them so much and I'm not only protecting my baby's health but my environment. I'm used to washing and ironing them daily for the other two babies until they reached year and a half. So I thought it wouldn't be a big deal.

Cloth Resusable Diapers

I uses cloth diapers for my baby daily . These are not only good for your baby’s skin and health, but are reusable. There are many variants of cloth diapers available in the market; I can picked up organic cotton ones that absorb well. However, I was prepared for some extra work, as you’ll need to change and wash your little one’s diaper, as soon as it gets soiled. As for me it's my pleasure doing it on a daily basis. I do it every morning before going about my economic activities for the day. I rinsed the pooped and washes with soapy water then later steep in very hot omo water for atleast an an hour. After which I rinse thrice before pegging them to his hangers.

IMG_20220218_213020_591.jpg

IMG_20220218_213058_243.jpg

  • Washing and pegging my cloth nappies 🥰

During this dry season, I allow my baby's stand in my room because of dust. This is because my house is besides the untarred road and the verander is always cleaned twice because of dust. So placing the stand outside is a no go for me.

The reasons I don't used diapers are many but I will just expatiate on two as seen below;

Diapers are Expensive

If you rely on diapers, I will say it's going to cost you a fortune, then it may burn a big hole in your pocket. On average, you may be required to change eight to ten diapers of your baby in a day and in some cases even more. However, there are some parents who complained of not having appropriate time though I see it as lack of time management.

Diapers are Not Environment-friendly

Use of diapers is on the rise, especially in this century. But Truth be told it is not good for the environment. There are a large number of diapers that get disposed in the environment containing plastic, synthetic fibres, and other chemicals. All these are difficult to decompose and pose a threat to the environment. That's why an advice of taking care of our already polluted environment is the best.

diapers-white-kids-wasted-our-lands-pollution-our-environment-diapers-white-kids-wasted-our-lands-pollution-our-197679203.jpg

Conclusion

Deciding on using cloth nappies, you'll need around 20-24 nappies to start with, depending on your washing and drying routine, climate and season. It's a good idea to try a few different types or inquire from a friend before you buy one type in bulk.
I will end here by saying parents who do laundry together give more Help to their wives than they could ever imagine. Therefore, washing nappies shouldn't be just the woman's thing especially when you both are working out of home.
Thanks for dropping by !

Cc
@thegreens
@fombae

#betterlife
#thediarygame
#cameroon
#steemexclusive
#steemcameroon
#health
#environment
#steemafrica
#krysucess

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited)

Seriously those things never decompose and people always throw them carelessly. Some are just lazy honestly they claim its rich people who buy diapers but i feel like its just some kind of laziness especially to use it round the clock.
But i won't totally discard it...I'd more like use both especially if you have a busy schedule or maybe going somewhere with the child and all that. At home you can continue with the napkins

 2 years ago 

It's a good write up. Not all women are stay-at-home wives, reason why they use diapers instead of napkins. Truth be told, napkins need a lot of attention. For working women who barely have time to follow up the cleaning of the napkins, using diapers is the way out.

 2 years ago 

I'm a working my too
For our environment sake we should atleast reduce the way we pollute mother Earth
I have about 3dozens
I don't do laundry daily but I do the nappies daily because of urine and...

 2 years ago 

Hmmmm what an analysis you have done there. From all indication you have had a long experience as house wife and more. Kudos . You know it just depend on individuals that is the cash you have in your pocket and the time at your disposal. Well son uses both....But time weh money no de na napkins we di usam..😀😁

You know there is a potion at the end of the post you are suppose to insert ur tags right???

 2 years ago 

It would be more environmental friendly if we uses those that aren't polluting mother Earth
Thanks for reading
Let go review because I thought I inserted the tags

 2 years ago 

Cool .The environment should be our main focus i guess....

 2 years ago 

You get it now
My regards to your Beautiful family

 2 years ago 

Same there dear

 2 years ago 

A very good writeup for twenty first century wives. Thanks for sharing please

 2 years ago 

Thanks for visiting my blog

 2 years ago 

I remember growing up, we were all raised with reusable cloth nappies... i haven't seen them in a while. It's interesting to see that someone is still using them. I think indeed that if washed and preserve properly, any reusable method of consumption is better for the environment

 2 years ago 

You have said it all
I still uses them
Thanks for reading

 2 years ago 

Wow what a great write up there dear it's owsome I love this

 2 years ago 

Thanks for reading
"Awesome" you meant

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43