"Steemit Big Chef05 [02-05-2024] Cooking Edikang ikong (Vegetable soup").

in Steem Cameroonlast month

It's a pleasure to be here once again, Happy new month my beloved steemians across the globe, I pray may the good Lord bless us speedily this new months and beyond.

1714750062718.png
Designed with photo collage

My special thanks goes to @chant for always bringing up this wonderful contest to us, and I'm always excited to participate especially when it has to do with food preparation.

Don't mind me, because me and food, we are bestie 😜.

IMG_20240502_190323.jpg
Displaying my Edikang ikong aoup

We all know that food is the basic necessity our body needs inorder to stay alive, stay healthy and stay active. Just stay tuned as I show you what type of dish I prepared this week.

What was your favorite meal of the week?

The dish I prepared this week (yesterday) was Edikang ikong (vegetable soup). Sometimes, people mistake vegetable soup for Edikang ikong, meanwhile they are two different meals. Edikang ikong is my favorite soup and I can eat it from Monday till Sunday without getting tired.

Did you prepared it or order from the restaurant?

I can order something else from the store but when it comes to food I prefer cooking it myself because of so many reasons. I love experimenting with my hands (playing around my kitchen is my hobby 🫣).

I said earlier that me and food, we are bestie so I think cooking my food frequently is the best option for me, so that I can eat at anytime I want.

Why do you like this particular meal?

I like Edikang ikong soup because of it's nutritional value, it serves as a blood tonic for me. Anytime I prepared it I must make sure I squeezed out the water from the leaves and mix it with milk and drink it, it gives iron to body.

Mention the ingredients used and step by step process of preparing this meal?

I will list out the ingredients I used in preparing my Edikang ikong soup.

Ingredients

• Goat meat
• Cow skin
• Pumpkin (vegetable leaves)
• Water leaves
• Periwinkle (shell)
• Pepper
• Salt
• Stick cube (maggi)
• Red oil
• Crayfish
•Onions
• Dry fish
• Stockfish (Ekporoko)

IMG_20240502_163440.jpg

IMG_20240502_163345.jpg

Method of preparing

Washed the goat meat and the cow skin put into the cooking pot, I added salt, pepper, Maggi and onions stir it and cooked for about 10 minutes for it to get soft. When it was done I added my washed stockfish, periwinkle and dried fish, turned it all together so that it every ingredient will enter it well.

IMG_20240502_182431.jpg
Steamed meat, cow skin, stockfish, periwinkle

While my meat was on fire, I used that chance and sliced my pumpkin leaf into very tiny piece and the water leaf too and set it aside. I pounded the crayfish and set aside too.

IMG_20240502_171950.jpg
Slicing the pumpkin leaf

After slicing the pumpkin leaf into tiny piece, I squeezed out the water from it and make sure it's well dried, did same with the waterleaf. This the process and the reason why it's been called Edikang ikong because it has to be dried.

Screenshot_20240503_180016~2.jpg
Sliced pumpkin and water leaves

While steaming the meat I didn't used any water, it was the water from the meat that helped steam the meat well and as the water was getting dried amd out the sliced water leaves into the pot, pour red oil into it, added crayfish, stir it very well and allowed it to simmer for 3-5 minutes.

IMG_20240502_183901.jpg
Pouring crayfish into the pot

IMG_20240502_183653.jpg
Turned it together

Then I added the sliced pumpkin leaves stir it well and then cover it to simmer for 1-2minutes.

IMG_20240502_184231.jpg
Tasting to know if everything is alright

After tasting to confirm then I turned of the heat and put the pot down, my soup is ready.

Is there any history behind this particular meal?

Edikang ikong soup is one of the native soup of Cross River State and Akwa Ibom State. The name Edikang ikong is derived from "Edikang" meaning "Dry" and "Ikong" meaning "vegetable leaves". Meaning that this soup is prepared dry without water, so you have to "KANG IT" so that it will be Edikang ikong.

What is the nutritional value of this meal?

Edikang ikong has so many nutritional value, Which are:

• It content amino acid, to help you overcome stress problems.

• Pumpkin leaves are very rich in antioxidants.

• The soup has high protein and vitamins content.

• The soup contain calcium for maintaining bone health.

• The soup contain fatty acid and vitamin E, magnesium and zinc in maintaining healthy skin.

IMG_20240502_190413~2.jpg
About to go down

I invite my friends @tripple-e @megareigns and @imadear to participate in the contest.

EZrGNWcrMDNczaEXa66AEJHcKH7nrfa7r2fnEEb26owGbJxf37qXFijrYKvtFm3TbakjREc5LrKHfmfhyBTX5XC9Cam2hYhr4DKHpUrKm3...Rcf1E3yMCdyecMxttNeuXoTydy8rwfHZ7cSQrEfFvsdFnr2TTMWNPaxNYTmTBrzbAmnVzWL4aR5qDnxpjojVZKHTj2YzCFRsLPdLXA6Pcy12rjQJH5QByvBPeE.png

One Love 💕

@missyleo

Sort:  

I'm salivating already, Edikang ikong soup is one of our local delicacies, very sumptuous. Thank God tomorrow is choir fasting, as I'm coming back I'll definitely stop by and eat but I'm afraid that doesn't look like your house o. Please just tell me you are at home. I wish you best of luck

 last month 

Thank God you have concluded by answering your question. True true that's not my house, I went to where I will see food and eat.
Thank you for stopping by with the wonderful comment.

Uwafid 😀😀

 last month 

🤣🫣

Although this dish is not known in our country but the dish looks quite delicious. Good luck to you in this competition. May the days of Saman make your life sweet. May God bless you.

 last month 

Thanks dear for this wonderful comment, I appreciate it, and Amen to your prayer for me.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 last month 

It's a pleasure.

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



 last month 

Thank you so much @steemcurator04 for the support, I appreciate it.

Omo see the assorted meat you have just prepared over here. You are a Great chef 😋 and I am already salivating here I am

 last month 

You're invited to come and eat, but you won't eat any meat😜.

 last month 

My dear please permit me to say your really enjoying the payroll in this country.

Imagine the content of the food first.
The mkpaniang(ingredients) can even trigger a person without appetite to eat the food.

Vegetable is one of my best dish basically because I love preparing mine with either okra or water leaves. Abd it's a blood tonic delicacy as you've said.

Saying you can order something else except food means we have something similar, because i hardly eat outside.
I cooked my meal the way I want it and enjoy it to my satisfaction.

Indeed this a very polite and interesting content I've read this week.
Best wishes

 last month 

Thank you dear for stopping by.

It's always a joy to me when ever I'm in the kitchen because I know I'm going to eat to my satisfaction.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66697.56
ETH 3490.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17