Creative writing contest volume 11 by @thegreens: Steem saved my mom and added value to my life.

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow steemians. It's a great honor to share this piece with you...

It's been some months since I joined steemit and I am pleased to say that I have been blessed on this platform. In here, I found a beautiful family of Cameroonian steemians who have shown me that strangers could easily turn to brothers and great leaders such as @thegreens and my humble mentor @majerius.

Two months ago my family experienced one of the toughest times ever. I was so desperate cause it was just me and my mother all alone at the time. I had been struggling on my own to help my mother get back to her feet but my efforts were not enough. So I sought for help from the steem-cameroon family and I was so amazed by the outcome of it all.
I was offered financial assistance for my mother's health and also some money for our upkeep.
During those days, using Steem felt like a miracle. Still being new to the system at the time, I couldn't even believe that a platform in which I knew no one would turn out to be a saving grace and a sanctuary for my aching soul.
That's not all though. Steemit has been many other things to me:

-An outlet for my thoughts and a friend to pour out my emotions to.
-It provides me with an audience for my poems
-It also gave me a greater sense of responsibility and dedication as I've become conscious of the fact that as much as others help me earn, I have to do same for them in here.

20210804_083943.jpg

Being on steemit has been phenomenal and I wouldn't change a thing if I had to go back in time. Steemit is indeed a place to be. Although the first place I "chopped" Steem was at a pharmacy, the joy and relief it gave me cannot be compared to anything.

Sort:  

Hello friend, I hope your mother is well

 3 years ago 

Hi there.. she's doing better. Thanks for asking

 3 years ago 

I haven't been seeing you active my own special mentee, what happened? Don't worry if I didn't text you. It's bizzy body.

-It also gave me a greater sense of responsibility and dedication as I've become conscious of the fact that as much as others help me earn, I have to do same for them in here.

Here is the ultimate rule you just gave, the art of helping. I'm happy having you back. Welcome Jacy writes ❤️🙏🏾

 3 years ago 

Thanks boss. I know you always care. I just had phone issues.

 3 years ago 

Hi @metugejacy20 , wow , that is a good aknowledgement ....you know in this platform the sense of togetherness is what keeps us thriving.Steem on

 3 years ago 

You are most welcome am glad you are inspired and motivated.
Like they say right you never know where you fortune will come from..
Imagine if you snoozed when the person who introduced you to steem mentioned it to you..
Just that small choice you made to join us made a big difference

 3 years ago 

You're right sir. I'm glad I made the choice to join

 3 years ago 

your story is so heart warming. I can imagine how you felt when you were miraculously assisted at you point of low.
May God continue to bless STEEMIT and Steemians

 3 years ago 

Hope your mum is doing great and we are happy we were able to support you when you needed.
We are one family, #Steemit Family!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58010.39
ETH 2457.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34