Creative Writing Contest Vol. 15| Education: What do you think about the number of subjects and content of the subjects students study in Cameroon?

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago (edited)

20210915_173017.jpg

Hello steemians. It's a pleasure to take Part in this Contest. As a Cameroonian who has studied all through in Cameroon, I must say our system of education is very excellent. But just like every other system, there's always some sort of disadvantage as well as advantages.

My Point Of View

In secondary schools in Cameroon, from the 1st cycle, students have as much as 16 subjects they study up until forms 4 or 5 where they get to pick their subjects for the General certificate education examination. Firstly, the number of subjects seems way too much for a single person (looking with the normal eyes). But from a scientific perspective, the brain has way too much capacity which is given a value in petabytes (1024 terabytes or 1 million gigabytes) just imagine that🤔. The brain is a storage center and is able to contain all of these subjects and even more. Until now, the only person to have used more than 10% of his brain was Sir Albert Einstein (though some say it's a myth). Lol!

Disadvantages..

1.Given the fact that some students take a longer time to absorb the content of some subjects, know it and apply it, the system is pretty disadvantageous at that point. They fail the subjects that they are lacking in and this demoralises them because they start to feel less smarter than the fast learners.

2.Another disadvantage is that, some of these subjects being thought can't be fully grasped by all the students. It would have been much better if the students didn't have to study so much just to give it up in the end when they're bound to pick their subjects of interest (Based on the science, arts, commercial etc). If they had been field specific from forms 1, they'd have the expertise and experience needed in their fields of study. Studying foreign matters in history and geography isn't an essential part of our education, it shortens the time a student could use in studying his/ her subject of interest.

Advantages..

1.The visible advantages of this system of studies is diversity and professionalism. These students get to study as much as they can of everything. Me for example; I'm an all round student with a passion for science but I bear the gift and inspiration of an artist. Back in my secondary school days, Literature, biology and history were my favorite subjects cause they entail lots of reading and prime understanding. I excelled so much in them because they had my favorite feature; reading. This was a good thing because I was able to pursue my career in science and still turn out to be a writer. (#multitasking) I have been able to connect with people of every field because I was thought all these subjects and I obtained vast knowledge from them. Many others have been able to do same. This is to our advantage. Also, to contrast my last point on Disadvantages, studying foreign matters can be of great use to many. Imagine a student who decides to study conflict resolution in the university but has no background knowledge of other nations and their history, or a student that aims to be a geographer but hasn't been thought of the geographical features of other countries. All of these can't be studied at the university level so putting such contents in the educational syllable can enable the students to envision their future jobs and also gives them diverse options to choose from (the right to choose)

Either ways, most of us in this community are who we are because of these same subjects and their contents. These are my thoughts on this topic. I remain thankful to @thegreens for giving us the platform to share our thoughts.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thanks very much @metugejacy for me certain subject should not be taught in school now for example literature so do you see with me ?

 3 years ago 

Hello @fannyuy. My handle is @metugejacy20 you might be tagging someone else when you ommit a single character from the account name.
I'm sorry but i don't see with you on this. My passion for art was only realized when I fell in love with literature. If I wasn't thought Literature, I wouldn't have been who I am today minus my science inclination. But that is my POV. We all have our opinions and I respect yours

 3 years ago 

That’s a good one. I love the advantages more. As for the disadvantages, I don’t really agree. O-Levels has a minimum of four subjects for a pass and a minimum of about seven papers for registration. I don’t think education at that level requires less. Curriculums are prepared based on average and so looking at the average rate of successful students, the system is doing well. We can’t give room for laziness in the name of difficulty.

 3 years ago 

Don't misquote the Disadvantages. It's not just about writing the GCE. These exams are there to test competency but that not even a true test. Some kids are born with psychological issues that donot favor them educationally, in Cameroon they are called dull but if you look at it critically, they are smart in other things. They need therapy but they don't get that. So when such a child doesn't do well in some subjects no matter how hard they try, they are demoralised. I say so cause I have thought children like that. Anyways thanks for sharing your thoughts..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60812.47
ETH 2629.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62