EP 1 - SINCE 1972 CREATIVE WRITING

in Steem Cameroon9 months ago

Hello dear steemians it has been a crazy week for me however I thought it wise today to share with you all a stage play I wrote two years ago. it is going to be in episodes and it is actually about Cameroon's history and the ongoing anglophone crisis. Please let me know what you think when you read it!

#Expositionist: I remember one faithful Sunday evening when I was stranded in Mbouda, as I struggled to reach Bamenda, before the popular Contri Sunday which happened to be the next day.
With no vehicle available, I was shocked when this private car alighted in front of my frustrated self, standing at entree de ville after several unsuccessful attempts to get one.
Tu vas ou? The man in the car called out. Thanks to basic French lessons I had received in school, I shouted; Je vais a Bamenda, with my faithful English accent glaring.
D’accord allons, he said. Hesitating and not wanting to counter my hate for them I told him I had only 1000 FRS and he simply smiled and said ok. For a moment I stood in shock, vigorous thoughts and questions played through my mind like, “So there are still good Francophones in this country? Why is this man helping an Anglophone? Wait, is he trying to carry me and report me as a stranded Amba boy in Mbouda?
I told myself I am not an Amba boy so that won’t even work. The ride was smooth; after all, you know our good roads from Babadjou to Bamenda. Our car didn’t stop at any of the check points because I guess the man on the steering knew just how to pronounce Bonjour Mon Commissaire, and of course the man seating by him mastered the perfect smile to accompany the greetings addressed to the officers.
Finally we got to Bamenda at 10PM. I dropped at Mobile and of course reality again slapped me in the face, the place looked like a desert, even the very courageous Bike riders were nowhere to be found. As I walked on the streets, a man in yellow uniforms signaled me to hurriedly come over and I obeyed, for Bamenda works now through the slogan, na neighbor dey helep neighbor. When I approached him I noticed he was a security guard, a man around his 50’s and all he told me was;

  • Dem dong just shoot some young man for total dey, and if you waka reach dey especially as you wear red and black them go shoot you.
    Scene 1
    #Enjeck: (Walking to the stage) No Father, I said No!
    #Pa Njeck: I am your father and I know what is best for you. I said you will not marry that young man. I already have the perfect suitor for you.
    #Enjeck: Father you know this is wrong, you know it. It’s not as if the person I want to marry is a complete stranger. He has been our neighbor for only God knows when. Father I love him.
    #Pa Njeck: Oh spare me that. What I have said is final. Go against it and count me out of anything that concerns you
    (walks out)

Scene 2
#Francois: Yes father everything is going according to plan. I have successfully made her to fall in love with me.
#Pa Koti: Good very good. I am proud of you my son. You know our ancestors will be very glad that we are doing this not just because of Eposi’s beauty but for the amazing things she carries. I am talking about the natural endowments given to her by God. I can’t wait to see the kind of grand children you two will give me
#Francois: Laughs. This is a dream come true for me too. Finally, marrying not just my neighbor but my childhood crush. What a time to be alive.
#Pa Koti: It is well. Anyway go get that wine in my cupboard. You know alcohol is the only thing that has kept some of us in this country.
To Be Continued...

DSC_7528.jpg

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56002.99
ETH 2458.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28