"Steemit Big Chef03 (Local Recipes For Egg Soup) - 16/04/2024"

in Steem Cameroon3 months ago

20240416_122105_0000.png
edited on canva

Good day people, a warm facilitation from Nigeria to everyone, it feels so good to participate on the episode 3 of the big chef cooking contest after a long time. I am so ready to see recipes of different delicacies from different tribes and believe me I will try atleast one of them out these days, permit me to also share the recipe I used to prepare my egg soup.

What Was Your Favourite Meal Of The Week?

IMG_20240416_145523.jpg
egg soup

My favourite meal of the week is Egg Soup with Okra, I have been craving for it for couple of weeks now, normally i had never tasted it before not untill February when I visited my friend and she gave me the food to eat, I fell in love with it and promised myself to prepare it in my house and today I really did it.

Did You Prepare It Or Order From A Restaurant?

I prepared it myself, yes! I am a bachelor that cooks and eat from my pot, I was trained that way, if by chance I eat restaurant food, maybe I am sick and wasn't able to fix myself something to eat but at that, I do not always consider restaurant food as ideal to cure our hunger.

Why Do You Like This Particular Meal?

Just like I said earlier, I never tasted it not untill February, but after my first experience with it, I knew it was a soup for me. I mean it doesn't require much strength, resources or time to prepare making it a go-to soup on emergency, I mean bachelors like us always want to be quick while cooking and not spend hours trying to prepare a single pot of soup.

Additionally, irrespective of it low budget nature, it consist of variety of nutritional value needed for our growth unlike other soup one have to continuously take before the effect is made realistic.

Mention The Ingredients Used And Step By Step Process Of Preparing This Meal.

I am not a professional chef but with my initiative i calculated the measurement of the ingredients, so I will be sharing a step to step guide on how I prepared this soup my own way.

Ingredients

IMG_20240416_074333.jpg

So for the ingredients, I had;

• Okra

• Onion bulb

• 4 Eggs

• Pepper

• 2 double seasoning cubeS (4 cubes)

• Bonga fish

• Adusa leaf

• Crayfish

• Palm oil

• Periwinkle

• Salt

• Water

Preparation

• Firstly, I washed my okra then chop them into pieces

• I also chopped Adusa leaf and onion

IMG_20240416_152146.jpg
My Chopped okra, onion and Adusa leaf

• After that, I washed my Bonga fish and Periwinkle then add water to the pot and turned everything into it.

• After this, I turned the gas on and put the pot on fire, then add my chopped okra, onion and Adusa leaf and allowed it to seamer for a while.

IMG_20240416_080935.jpg
adding okra and onions to the pot

IMG_20240416_153159.jpg
adding my Bonga fish and periwinkle to the pot before putting it on fire

• After 3 minutes, I went back and added seasoning cubes, crayfish, pepper and salt to the boiling pot and allowed it to seamer for a while.

• While the pot was still on fire, I broke the eggs and turned them to a plate, add seasonings, salt and pepper to it then stirr it to mix.

IMG_20240416_155156.jpg
allowing it to steam for a while after adding my seasonings

IMG_20240416_155410.jpg
mixed egg with seasonings

• After about 5 minutes, I went back and added palm oil to it.

• After adding the palm oil, I allowed it to seamer for 2 more minutes.

• After two minutes, I added the mixed egg.

IMG_20240416_154506.jpg
adding egg to the soup

IMG_20240416_082401.jpg
adding palm oil to the soup

• After adding those, I allowed it to seamer for about 3 more minutes, then stirred it and allowed it to seamer again for about a minute before turning off the heat source.

• My soup was ready and I dished it and had a good time with it!!.

IMG_20240416_084229.jpg
egg soup about to be devoured with garri

Is There Any History Behind This Particular Meal?

To the best of my knowledge, I can't trace any history associated with egg soup but all I know is that this soup taste good and if there is any history related to it, I would love to know.

Nutritional Value

• Okra is rich in vitamin c and this contributes to overall immune function.

• Egg contains high percentage of protein and is associated with benefit of weight management.

• Okra is rich in vitamin k1 which is responsible for blood clotting.

• Egg Soup has a good proteinous compound which is necessary for replenishing of lost cell.

• Okra contains flavonoids and polyphenols which serves as antioxidant.

I am inviting @unyine23, @bossj23 and @wirngo to participate in this contest.

Thanks for reading 💕

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...
 3 months ago 

Omg!
This was my easy-to-go meal back them in the university because even with 200 naira you can prepare it and even buy garri with the change, but now before you can cook this type of meal you must break a bank (smile)🤣🤣🤣.

My boss @megareigns it's today I know that you are a rich kids with all this obstacles (fish and periwinkle) inside "common egg soup" as we used to call it back then. With the current price of egg in the market now, I can't remember when last I ate one🧏🫣. I wish you luck in your post.

 3 months ago 

😂😂😂😂😂

I thought this was food for poor kids like myself?
Thank you so much for your encouraging and hilarious comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67422.69
ETH 3492.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70