CONTEST ALERT: BODY SHAMING

in Steem Cameroonlast year (edited)

obesity-gbd407540a_1280.jpg
Source

Wonderful Steemians, for real, I am so happy to be part of this family, learning cannot be this better elsewhere. I also strongly believe you all are doing just great. It's a privilege to participate in a wonderful contest as this, I also believe I will learn from others and see possible ways to curtail body shaming rampaging our society.

What Do You Know About Body Shaming?

fat-g017eb85f4_1280.png
Source

Body Shaming has been over time the most critical yet, the least considered act of cruelty by humans. It could be seen as an act of talking/looking down on others or one self physique. By this I mean, it entails looking down. On people and laughing at the way they were created or even looking down on your own self.

Body Shaming has been on high rise for the past decades, sometimes people dosent even know the dept at which it goes to hurt others. Body Shaming also covers every act of low self esteem but then society finds it hard to even notice this. Some are done deliberately but then some are not deliberate act, but whichever way it is, should not be tolerated and taken lightly.

Have You Ever Been In A Situation Where You Feel Upset About Body Shaming?

furious-gb5ab660b9_1280.jpg
Source

Like seriously, I have been on countless occasions body shamed and it has never been funny. I could remember when I started adding weight, a lot of my friends will jokingly mock me and liken me to "wild pig". Sometimes, I feel I could just give them a blow on the face and the other time, I will just get back home being angry at myself for adding this much weight.

Also, there were days when I was still doing my National Diploma program at the state Polytechnic I will have to stand in for a lady that had an overweight, alot of student will stop at nothing to make the lady feel really bad and I just can't help than to remind them she never created herself. Sometimes, I will have to see the lady cry when we don't have lectures and at some point I almost picked a fight with a boy who took the lady's slippers and ran away expecting her to run after him, I took on my heel and chased the boy down to our department, I got the slippers and we almost exchanged blows, thanks to the securities that were on duty that day.

Everyother day I get to see tragic stories online and on television how people die just because others told them they are too skinny, tall or short to be human and they can't help than to take their lives. It really saddens that humanity has gotten to this point where they have to give God detect on how He should've created human beings, we are loosing it.

Do You Think Body Shaming Is Harmful?

measuring-tape-g6841d343d_1280.jpg
Source

Body Shaming is deadly and not just harmful. We can't deny the fact that others have made their fellow human feel they came to the wrong life with the wrong body structure. Alot of people are now suffering from low self-esteem which can lead to depression. It is high time the society look towards this direction and shun this act.

Body Shaming has lead a lot of people globally to their early grace, we have read and seen it happening, people coming out to tell us their relatives died because he or she was mocked of being plus sized or too skinny. This is a very bad omen adopted by humanity. God created everyone uniquely and as such, no one should expect others to be or look like them.

Intellects has lost a lot of job opportunities in the society because of body shaming, a clear example is the story about my uncle who lost his arms while trying to save his daughter from a building collapse, when he later returned to the office, be was relieved of his duty as a clerical staff. There are lots of these happening around us and we are paying deaf ears to it.

What Advice Will You Give To Both Victims Perpetrators Of Body Shaming?

consulting-g50b4d4dcd_1280.jpg
Source

My advice to every victim of body shaming is that; they should never feel less of themselves, ofcourse they should live above a depressed life as a result of body shaming. You were made perfect as as such, you are beautiful in your own way, don't be weighed down by the noises around you, you are too beautiful and handsome for such.

And to the perpetrators of body shaming, refrain from it, you are killing people with your words and actions. There is never a good time than now to refrain from such act of cruelty to fellow human. No one is being awarded the best body shamer and as such should strive for the development of humanity not her destruction.

I invite @etette , @piya3 and @panamaprecious to participate in this contest if they haven't done that yet.

Thank you for reading

@megareigns

Sort:  

Nice piece👏🏼👏🏼No one should ever feel less of themselves. We're all unique in our own ways.

 last year 

Steem greetings @megareigns,

Steem Cameroon appreciates your dedication and encourages you to do more.

CATEGORIESREMARKS(Yes✅ & No❌)
Steemexclusive
Plagiarised Free
Bot Free
Club Status ( #club5050 )
No Liquid Steem(SBD/STEEM)
Set Beneficial (@null)
Contest ( #bodyshaming-c3 )
Steemit/Contest Rules

Reviewed by: @fombae (Mr Bull)

 last year 

I really hate this body shaming thing. It's a bad practice and should be punishable by the law. I've been there and know how it is

 last year 

Thank you for participating in the contest and fighting back is not a good strategy but rather talking to them that everyone is unique in life is better. Most pepertrators act in ignorance and needed to be educated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53