THE DIARY GAME - NOT ALL THAT GLITTERS ARE GOLD. "A LESSON I LEARNT IN A HARD WAY" [30/12/2023]

in Steem Cameroon7 months ago

IMG_20231230_105527_347.jpg
Image snapped with my phone

Greetings, my fellow Steemians! It's a pleasure to return, and I hope everyone is well. Yesterday wasn't the best for me, as it brought forth a significant life lesson that I had to learn.

Life is filled with lessons, and often times there are little reminders to keep those lessons in our minds for later use. Occasionally, these life lessons are acquired through challenging experiences, requiring a considerable journey and time for acknowledgment.

There are some undeniable truth in the universe but for you to learn them and accept them might take an arduous path and a long time. Follow me as I take you through the path of one big lesson I learnt yesterday.

I woke up on Saturday as early as I can remember, I carried out sanitation in my compound as it's always a custom that every last Saturday of every month is a general sanitation in the community where I live. After that, I washed my dishes and freshened up.

IMG_20231230_112859_423.jpg
Image snapped with my phone

IMG_20231230_112903_897.jpg
Image snapped with my phone

Feeling so exhausted and tired after the whole work, I couldn't help it after have had my breakfast but to take a nap.

The shock of my life : The life lesson I learnt

When I woke up from my sleep, it was already noon so I decided to take a stroll around my neighborhood. While I wandered around my street in the neighborhood, I met a friend who was looking for where he could power his cell phone and we exchanged pleasantries.

While we discussed, the sight of one betting shop (bet9ja shop) brought hope to him immediately we saw that there was light in there. So he said I should follow him to the bet9ja shop.

IMG_20231230_103946_128.jpg
Image snapped with my phone(infinix note 10)

We got to the betting shop, he plugged his phone and we sat down. While waiting for his phone to charge, I saw a fellow that walked into betting shop, and straight he went to the betting counter.

I saw him brought out 10,000 naira from his pocket and Placed a bet on some visual games(fondly called Akpoo by the guys in my area) and in my very before, he won the bet and 30,000 naira was given to him.

He did that for 4 consecutive times and won. I thought it was that easy and saw it as the easiest way to becoming rich and wealthy as I had always dreamed of.

So I stood up and went straight to the betting counter to try my luck too.

IMG_20231230_103843_957.jpg
Image snapped with my phone

I was with 5000 naira in my pocket, so I decided to bet with 2000 naira. I won, and 7000 naira was given to me. Oh my goodness, I have arrived finally I said to myself.

So I decided to bet again for the second time. This time, I staked 5000 naira to win 15000 naira, and boom I won. I counted all the money I had with me and I discovered that I had made a profit of 10000 naira from the 5000 naira I went with.

Wow, this must be a gold mine I said to myself, thinking that all that glitters are gold. At this point I gave myself 100,000 naira target to go home with. So I placed a bet for the third time. 10,000 naira to win 30,000 naira and to my greatest surprise I lost the bet 😭.

Remembering how I won my first and second bet, I decided to bet the remaining 5000 naira had again I lost the bet. In a bid to recover all the money back, I dropped my phone with them at the counter to allow me bet on credit.

I continued betting and kept losing that before I could realized myself, I had already lost 50,000 naira extra. At this point, my cell phone was at stake as they refused given me the phone back.

I can say that my greatest mistake was going into that betting shop. So I had to run around in search of money to redeem my phone. Finally, I borrowed some money and redeemed my phone.

Now it became obvious that all that glitters are not gold.

Thank you all for reading my diary. I hope from you too.

Sort:  

¡Salve, @mattmillion, lucero radiante de Steemit! 🌟

¡Vaya, qué jornada tan colmada de altibajos has vivenciado! Tu narrativa me tuvo cautivado desde el inicio. 🎢 La vida, sin duda, tiene el don de brindarnos enseñanzas valiosas, y tu experiencia es un ejemplo vibrante.

La dedicación que desplegaste durante la limpieza general refleja tu naturaleza responsable. Es imperioso velar por nuestro entorno. 🌍 ¡Y esa siesta post jornada laboral, todos conocemos ese placer!

Tu encuentro en la tienda bet9ja tomó un giro inesperado. La tentación de riquezas rápidas es fuerte, pero tu travesía entre victorias y derrotas se erige como una narración de advertencia. ¡El triunfo inicial ha de haberse sentido como alcanzar el tesoro! 💰

No obstante, la vida lanzó una curva, y es digno de aplauso que hayas reconocido la lección en ello. Se requiere valentía para compartir vivencias así, y tu honestidad es encomiable. 🙌 Es un recordatorio contundente de que no todo lo que brilla es oro.

Las idas y venidas en tu relato me tuvieron al filo del asiento. Perder la apuesta, el riesgo con tu teléfono y la búsqueda para recuperar pérdidas—una narrativa con la que muchos pueden identificarse.

Gracias por compartir este relato cautivador de altibajos y la resiliencia para aprender de los errores. ¡Confiamos en que las lecciones aprendidas abran camino a días más brillantes en el futuro! 🚀🌈 Mantén tu resiliencia, amigo mío!

 6 months ago 

Happy new year to you my good friend @aprendeconkevin.

Though I don't understand your language used in your comment, but I do appreciate all your effort to my grow in the Steemit community.

Thank you for being a source of inspiration and encouragement to me 🙏.

I'm grateful

Loading...

This post has been upvoted through -Steemcurator09.



Team Newcomer- Curation Guidelines For January 2024 Curated by - <@nahela>

Note: Try and engage meaningfully with fellow users, comment and upvote on their post, as this will help you to have good Voting CSI

We invite all newcomers from 0 to 3 months of existence in steemit to use hashtags #newcomer and #country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47