The Dairy Game : The Eve To My Father's Burial Memorial Service || 22-02-2024

in Steem Cameroon5 months ago

IMG_20240222_113931_882.jpg
Image taken with my phone

Hi Steemians,

I bring greetings to this wonderful family @steemCameroon. Thanking God whom it has been so pleased to give us another chance of existence in this promising new month. Of a wtruth, the race is not for the swift, but indeed it's of the Lord that showeth mercy. For every one of us who is privileged to be alive today, Let's give God thanks.

My father died many years ago when I was still very tender, infact this year will be making it 16 good years that he passed away. Some of my siblings were still very little that they didn't know who their father was. After his death, being that we his children were still very young, we couldn't afford to give him a proper burial right as our tradition demands. So he was just buried just like that by his brothers waiting till we grow up and do all the necessary things according to our tradition when burying any of our dead parents.

Sons giving their father a befitting burial and the first son providing 3 life goats for his burial is a very strong tradition in my home town ( 1 goat goes to the community, another to his kindred and the other will be giving to his father's uncle relations. All these I couldn't provide as a first son when he died, but it has been a very big debt on me for the past 16 years since it's a must do.

This has restricted me from doing some certain things in my community until I fulfill all the demands according to our tradition for my father burial. This call for the burial Memorial service of my father that we just did on the 23rd of February, 2024.

So the eve of the burial Memorial service, I woke very early and prepared for market because I was told by my aunt that I should go to the market early, I will be able to buy the goats at a cheaper rate from the real owners. But before I left for market, I was served Agidi with a melon stew for breakfast.

IMG_20240222_084856_260.jpg
Image taken with my phone

After eaten, I left for the market. On getting to the point where they sell goats, few sellers has arrived with their goats that they wanted to sell.

IMG_20240222_102921_398.jpg
Image taken with my phone

My goodness, the bad economy has affected the prices of everything in the country. As I approached them and started bargaining, I realized that I could no longer buy the 6 goats that I had in mind to buy because of the high cost of the goats, as the price that I estimated for each goat has doubled. I spent almost the whole day at the market trying to see if I could get any at a cheaper rate but at the end, I could only get just 3 goats with the same money I budgeted for 6 goats.

IMG_20240222_113944_015.jpg
Image taken with my phone.

Not happy with the Naira has lost so much value, having little purchasing power, I just the market with the 3 goats I was able to buy. Before I got home, late in the evening, I just freshened up, had my dinner and retired for the day. Thank you for reading my diary, until my next post, keep valuing and appreciating God for the life you live.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @scilwa, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @ abiga554
r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publication ha sido votado por @scilwa. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

This post has been upvoted through Steemcurator09


Newcomer Team Curation Guidelines For March 2024
Curated by @suboohi

Note:

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50