The Dairy Game : SETTLING THE DOWRY OF MY WIFE//29/5/2024

in Steem Cameroon2 months ago

IMG_20240529_183414_942.jpg
Image taken with my phone

Greetings to all my steemit friends in this wonderful community. Is been a while here and am super excited to be back on this platform with my diary after these weeks I was away. So many things has changed and a lot has happened during this period of me being away. Please get a glass of wine or chilled water handy as I fill you with some of the things that happened during this period.

Would you say this year is a good or bad one?. For me, it's a good one because in this year I did find her of whom the scripture said " He that finds, findeth a good thing and obtains favor from the Lord. But I must tell you, it wasn't easy since I had to go to another land and tribe because of love to pick a wife. But it was a good experience though. Let me share some of the experiences I had the day I went to settle the dowry of my wife.

I woke that morning with so much anxiety as the thought of the whole marriage stuff overwhelmed me. After getting all the items that was given to me on the list, I was set to go to my inlaw village as soon as my family members arrived. We drove to Ikot Mfon in Etinan Local Government Area of Akwa Ibom State my wife village.

It was a long drive as the distance from Uyo where I live to their village is a bit far. We got to their village and finally arrived my inlaw's compound. They welcomed us and offered us seats to sit.

IMG_20240529_183417_184.jpg

IMG_20240529_183421_432.jpg

Images taken with my phone.

Menh..... immediately sat down, we experienced a culture tradition different from ours as they welcomed us with a lot of entertainment, offering us food and drinks to cool ourselves down before we engaging in the main business of the day " the dowry settlement. I must tell you, I enjoyed and loved their culture.

After we have finished eaten, we were asked to join the family members and some elders of the village already sited and waiting for us outside.

IMG_20240529_183402_860.jpg

IMG_20240529_183431_512.jpg

Images taken with my phone.

We joined them outside and we began the business of the day, our reason of being there. The family spokesman brought out their own copy of the marriage list and began to read them one after the other while he asked that we should present each item as he called them out. There was a lot of arguments at this point as the two families disagreed on some matters to later agreed.

IMG_20240529_183404_975.jpg
Image taken with my phone.

Hmmmmmm....... At the end of the whole thing, everything on the marriage list which their tradition and nature laws demand by the grace of God was met. From here, immediately I knew that "Obi is no longer a Boy", "Obi is now a Man".
I saw the joy and happiness on the face of my wife as she hugged her sister and mum.

IMG_20240529_183452_177.jpg
Image taken with my phone.

My family thanked my inlaw and the elders for accepting us and agreeing to give out their daughter in marriage to us. Our traditional marriage and white date was fixed immediately same day. Thereafter we headed back home.

Thank you for reading through my diary, I will be sharing the events of my traditional marriage and white wedding in my next publication.

MATTMILLION

Sort:  

image.png
CONGRATULATIONS!!
This post has been upvoted - Steem's Angels with @steemcurator09/ Curated by: @weisser-rabe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61497.04
ETH 2478.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66