The Dairy Game : Attending My Friend's Father's Burial || 28 -02-2024

in Steem Cameroon2 months ago

IMG_20240228_141713_581.jpg

Greetings to you all, my steemit friends on this wonderful community. I thank God that am alive today and am also thankful to God that He has kept and preserved everyone of you. It's a great privilege that we all are alive today. The rate at which people are dying this days is putting fear in me. Why growing up, I was told that any day I sleep and wake to see the next day, I should be thankful to God. But now, I think this statement should be change to every second we are alive and breathing, we should thank God.

The death of my friend's father shocked me and it was something that changed my perception of thanking God every day I wake to see a new day to every second I live to breathe. This was a man I stayed and discussed with that faithful day before going to work. In fact, he saw me off to the road when I was going to work, only for me to come back from work in the evening and heard that he was dead.

Then I knew that there was nothing in this world. Weeks after his death, arrangement for his burial was made by my friend and his family. The day of the burial came, and I traveled to their home town to at least say goodbye to the deceased. Keep reading as I share all the events as the unfolded that day.

I got to their village around 10 Am that day, the program has started, though they are yet to bring the dead body back from the mortuary. I sat down in one of the canopy waiting for the dead body. Then I heard people shouting snake oo, snake oo in the next compound, and one guy who was just passing by rushed to the compound and killed the snake.

IMG_20240228_114248_281.jpg
Image taken with my phone.

Men and women kept trooping in the venue until everywhere was filled with people. Then came the arrival of the ambulance and some other family members that accompanied my friend to the mortuary. On getting to the compound, the dead body was carried by some men and placed at the center of his compound.

IMG_20240228_121734_931.jpg
Image taken with my phone.

The burial service was officiated by the Holy ghost ambassador church. It was a sharp sharp service as the pastor promised to be brief in the conduct of the service. After songs and prayers, everyone was asked to go go and see the corps for the last time ask the pastor asked that the casket been opened so that people can see him.

IMG_20240228_121720_718.jpg
Image taken with my phone.

When everyone has gone and see the corps, he was prayed for and laid to rest " dust to dust". After which all the members of the family of the deceased asked to out for prayers. After they have been prayed for, they were given some offerings for support. After that, food was served and we did eat.

IMG_20240228_135324_943.jpg

IMG_20240228_135236_230.jpg

Images taken with my phone

After the refreshments, I met with my friend, said a little words of encouragement then I left their village to my home since I came from a distant place. By the time I got home, it was already dark and I was very tired so, I freshened up and retired for the day.
Thank you for reading my post. I hope to read yours too.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66149.24
ETH 3015.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73