The Dairy Game : Attending My Community Town Hall Meeting For The First Time, And Witnessing The Election Of The New Executives || 24 - 02 - 2024

in Steem Cameroon3 months ago

IMG_20240224_165253_744.jpg
Image taken with my phone

Dear Diary,

Being part of a community that knows you and cares about you or what is happening in your life naturally creates a sense of belonging. Because it provides one the opportunities to socialize with other people. This is important because socialization has a significant benefits for both the mind and body, as this may have a significant impact on the mental health.

It is important to try never to isolate ourselves from our people or from any society or community that we found ourselves, as we may be abandon or be left to suffer and carry it all alone should anything happen to us whether good or bad. But when we associate with people or belong to a community, it will help us live a more happier and healthier life.

All these led me to joining the Onuofia community development union ( my village meeting) as I traveled home. My experiences and all the things that happened that day are what I will be sharing with you all as there unfolded.

It was a day after my father's burial Memorial service that my community held her 2024 general meeting. It is a once in a year meeting which is usually held in February every year when all the sons and daughters in diaspora will all return home. And this year, it was held on the 24th of February, 2024.

So that morning, I woke up very late because of the stress of the previous day. After waking up, I brush my teeth, ate and rested for a while. After resting, I began to return all things that was used during the event like the crates of beer with some other borrowed utensils.

By the time I finished, it was already noon, exactly 2 pm on a dot. It was time for the Onuofia village general meeting. So I freshened up and headed to the town hall. I arrived the town hall a little late because they had commenced the meeting when I got there. Finished the the election of the new executives and were swearing them into office.

IMG_20240224_165232_960.jpg
Image taken with my phone.

After the swearing in, all the newly elected leaders took their seat and resumed work immediately. A lot of issues bordering our community were deliberated on, which some of them include land dispute settlement, putting up some street lights on some locations in the village and a lot more. After which the meeting was over and we started refreshment.

IMG_20240224_173051_438.jpg
Image taken with my phone

Funny enough I did not go there with any Plate because it was my first time of joining the meeting and didn't know that members do come with their own plate. So I quickly rushed to a nearby store and pleaded for some customers bag ( nylon) so I can use and get my own share of the food and meat of which they gave me. So I came back to the hall and got my own share.

IMG_20240224_173121_920.jpg
Image taken with my phone

When they finished sharing the food and everyone had gotten, it was now time to to share the meat. This meat was one of the goat I gave to the community the previous day during my father's burial memorial service. It was killed to be eaten during the village meeting. So they handed over the heat of the goat to me as tradition demands as one who gave the community a goat.

IMG_20240224_173800_218.jpg

IMG_20240224_173803_820.jpg

Images taken with my phone.

After all the merriment, a closing prayer was said by the chairman, thereafter we all left to our different houses. When I got home, I freshened up, had my dinner and retired for the day because it was already night.
Thank you all for reading my diary, I hope to read from you too.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68804.78
ETH 3766.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49