Steem Cameroon Contest - World Information Society Day (Nigeria)

in Steem Cameroonlast month

It is another wonderful privilege and opportunity to be participating in @steem-cameroon contest and in today I will be submitting my entry concerning the National or international Awareness day. Today I have decided to go with the "World Information Society Day " which is always celebrated on May 17. So stay tune and read below.

What do you know about the day? (Make sure you mention the actual date)

pexels-photo-177598.jpeg

Image Source

The World Information Society Day(WTISD) which according to my research is also called the World Telecommunications And Information Society Day also and the short form is (WTISD) is an annual celebration thay is always observed like i said on May 17. May 17 was picked by the United Nations General Assembly in the year 2006 in order for it to raise massive awareness on the possibilities that actually lies in the use of the internet and other information and communication technologies (ICT).

By doing so, the people have the awareness and come to understand what they bring to the society and the economy in general. According to the historical facts being done, I have come to discover that the origin of world information society day was actually founded due to the establishment also of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU). The ITU was established on May 17, 1865 also.

Objectives Of World Information Society Day(WTISD)

There are several objectives and purposes why the day was actually established and also celebrated to date and which I will be discussing below.

  • Raising Awareness.

Like I said earlier, it helps to actually raise awareness to the public about the massive opportunities and benefits that lies in ICT and what it has to offer to the society.

  • Encouraging Actions.

This also helps to promote actions and enhances the development of the telecommunications infrastructure in the society due to the awareness that was created.

  • Promoting Global Dialogue.

This also helps to actually promote discussions among governments and private sectors on ICT-related issues.

Propose and Draw a Mascot to represent the day.

Alright, though I am not actually good in drawing but I was actually able to come up wirh a drawing thay represent the day below.

IMG_20240517_172843.jpg

Give a brief description of your mascot.

Okay according to the Mascot I draw above, there are some points or significant features that I was able to draw out of the mascot to represent the day effectively.

  • Search Engine.

As we all know, the world of internet generally thrive on search engine to help get and transfer informations across the world and to every aspect needed for it to thrive.

  • Internet

The second feature I drew there was actually the internet. The world of ICT thrive on the internet world that helps to connects server together and for it to thrive.

  • Information /Message

The next feature was the information or let me say the message feature that I drew also which helps to represent data that everyone needs from the internet at one point.

  • People

The second to the last feature I drew was the People. People of course are those in the society which needs the access to the information.

  • The World

Then lastly is the world in general. This comprises the globe in general where inside the world of ICT thrive.

What are the changes you think this day has brought to your community.

There are a whole lot of impacts I strongly believe that the day of World Information Society Day has bring to my community which I will be discussing below briefly.

  • Increased Awareness and Digital Literacy

pexels-photo-1181271.jpeg

Image Source

This has really helped to actually increases the awareness and not only that helps people to learn the world of digital in deep. I have actually come to discover that my community usually hosts events that can actually help to educate the people on how they can use the digital tools and for them to know the benefits of ICT.

  • Improved Access to Technology

The second impact I will say this has caused to our community is the fact that it has actually helped to improve access to technology in my community. My community has actually seen massive improvements in broadband infrastructure and this has made the internet accessible for us.

  • Enhanced Economic Opportunities

As we all know that there are a whole lot of economic opportunities that actually lies on the internet. By doing so, this has helped businesses to establish online presence in the digital world and making use of digital tools.

  • Educational Advancements

Then the last impact is the fact that it has actually contributed to create this online structure for education to actually takes place and to be established.

Who are the active promoters, and what do you think can be added to have more impact to your community.

Currently now I will say the active promoters of this day in my community are the National Governments. Government have helped to observe the WTISD by actually organising events and conferences all around the community. Not only them alone but also NGOs also have helped to push advocates for the digital inclusion and this has actually helped to support the ICT education in my community.

Now to the last question, I believe if the government can put these measures in place, it can actually helped to enhance the impact of the day much more in my community.

  • Community Technology Centers

twitter-facebook-together-exchange-of-information-147413 (1).jpeg

Image Source

It will really be a thing of joy if the government can actually help to establish the community technology centers which have computers and internet access so that people who want to learn about ICT can actually do so.

  • E-Government Services

The next one I believe strongly is that if government can actually come up with E-Government Services in order to actually make it easier for people in my community to actually have access to public services and information also.

I invite @lovelystar , @newekemini5 and @okere-blessing to participate in this contest.

❤️I hope you enjoyed very much by reading my post. Thank you so much for reading till the end❤️

Best Regards By

@mandate

👇 About me 👇

Achievement 1

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64839.49
ETH 3551.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32