Contest: Body Shaming

in Steem Cameroonlast year

INTRODUCTION

Hello to every beautiful steemians around the globe, it is been a while right! I bless God for @chant who made this wonderful contest to encourage and help steemians engage into posting on steemit. I'll be giving out my opinion as concerns this topic "BODY SHAMING" in the most appropriate way I can. I hope you follow up and enjoy reading.


20230705_100345.jpg


WHAT DO YOU KNOW ABOUT BODY SHAMING?


I'll first of all try to define what I understand by this term, body Shaming. Body shaming is making fun of someone with hard and harsh words for a natural body feature. This thing called body shaming is the worst thing anyone could go through. It's just like seeing someone with a large sized head than yours and making him feel bad because he has that particular feature.


HAVE YOU EVER BEEN IN A SITUATION WHERE YOU FEEL UPSET ABOUT YOUR BODY?


The answer is yes, I have already been in a situation where I felt bad about my body. I will tell you a little life story. I was in form 2 by then when a chemistry teacher was in class. She wrote certain equations on the board for us to balance them and as it was her custom, she will call people to balance them.

boy-being-discriminated-his-skin-color_23-2148611341.webpimage source

She called every other person by names but when it came to me she called me "big head". In her words, she said, "big head come and balance me this equation" and obviously all the class laughed out loud and I felt so bad that I replied her with a sobbing voice, "my name is not big head". She finally punished me and when I finished my punishmwnt I felt so bad that o had a big head and because of it I was made fun of.

That's just one of the many cases I have gone through that hideous act. Being dark and being a stammerer in a kind of society who doesn't know about the cruelty of this act is not really easy.


DO YOU THINK BODY SHAMING IS HARMFUL?


Of course yes! It is a very harmful thing to an individual. Body shaming can hurt a person's self confidence and trust. If a little child is body shamed at his very young age, you will notice how the child will be scared to speak out most times.

Psychological damages could also happen and the person will turn to be an introvert and not want to discuss with anyone. Body shaming is not a healthy practice at all. It transcends far beyond someone's physical appearance.


WHAT ADVICE (s) WILL YOU GIVE TO BOTH VICTIMS AND PERPETRATORS OF BODY SHAMING?


I have a very strict and candid advice to perpetuators of this hideous act. And I would admonish them to stop doing such things because God is the creator of all the universe and has a reason why he created each and everyone of us the way he did. Before you begin to shame another person you didn't create, make sure you can create a perfect human being.

I'll plead on them to stop harassing people's emotions and confidence with the words they use to create a better world where we all can live peacefully and joyfully accepting one another the way we are.

As for the victims, I speak as one who has gone through this act. And I will prescribe the same thing I submitted myself to while under the same attack. The first thing is that, you should begin to see yourself as God sees you. And the only way to do so is to study the bible and pray to know how He sees you.

When you have prayed and studied, then you begin to confess what you heard him say to you through his voice and the word. every morning and night before I sleep, I make sure I confess how miraculously made I am. Self confidence is very important in life and will always be an asset in the hands of he who knows how to wield that.


CONCLUSION


I bless you all for reading this and I trust God that as you grow up your kids you will make them know the importance of seeing people and appreciating them the way they are. God created all human beings with their physical appearances and He expects us all to respect one another. Let us all stand against body shaming.

To this effect, I would like to invite @bongk, @newtonb, @pandora2010, @ubongudofot, @wintia and @wirngo to partake of this contest.
Sort:  
 last year 

Thanks for the invite brother, all the best for the contest.

 last year 

You're welcome bro

TEAM 4

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted through steemcurator07. Good post here should be..

Congratulations!.png

Curated by : <@solaymann>

 last year 

It is a pitty that you had to go throgh this and those insulting act in ignorance. In our society, it is very common with teachers who are learned to body shame students likewise students body shaming some teachers. We hope with more sensitisation, people should stop the practice of body shaming. Thank you for participating and we encourage you to stay commited and also engage with quality comments to other user's post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56769.00
ETH 2325.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36