Surprise or Promise, Which do you prefer”

in Steem Cameroon2 months ago
1000059845.jpg
freepik

It feels really good to be here, it's been a while here friends. I trust we are doing pretty well here.... smiles. This contest topic caught my attention and I decided to hop in on it. Trust me, I found it something worth writing about and of course I have my two cents to share about the topic of discussion. Let's get into it right away guys....

Have you ever been surprised or promised before? Share what or how it looks like.

Of course Yes! But to be honest, it's sometimes difficult for people to surprise me, they only to get to succeed on rare occasions and I guess it's because my mind is always fixed on getting suprises. Well, it's not a good place to be because when your expectation is cut short, it leads to disappointment.

But on those very few occasions that I get suprises, I value them and of course express my boundless gratitude to those involved. As touching promises, yes, I've been promised a lot of things a couple of times and you know, some turned out well, as those who made promises made good their promises while on the other hand, some of these folks failed to fulfil their promises.

My mindset about promises is that people who make promises have this tendency fail, as long as they are human but there's one who makes promises and never go back on them...am sure you know who the person is...well am talking about God,now you know...smiles.

How was your reaction to the surprise or promise? Expatiate

My reaction is always out of this world, I could remember one time a friend of mine got me a phone when I was in dire need of one. It was shortly after my birthday, it was suppose to be a birthday surprise anyways but then days have gone over it. I had the feeling that this friend of mine was gonna get me a phone since I was already told there is a gift for me.

Well I also had some iota of doubt, like how is this fellow going to afford something like that for me, it can't just be and all that. So I kept all of this thought to myself until it was the day we had to meet. I met this friend of mine and we got talking and all of a sudden, I was staring at a new phone waiting for me to grab and start enjoying...

1000059846.jpg
freepik

I was like...are you for real, like you got me this phone...I was just so happy because the phone was no more in my imagination but now a reality I was staring at. I was just so elated.

Have you ever surprise or Promise someone? Explain.

I've done both, I've promised people stuffs many times and I've also surprised people countless times. I love surprises and I love the feeling it brings, the feeling is soothing, more like medicine to a failing health. That's the reason why I love to surprise people too.
If you ask me, I prefer surprises to promise.

Promises gets their minds fixated on what you intend doing for them. While surprises give them no idea what you're up to until you do them. They are caught unaware and suddenly which makes it real and sweet. People express their realest emotions at this point of surprise whether positive or negative. It's just so hard to fake it.

Describe a scenario you were promised and it failed.

Hmmmm....well, I've been failed many times even after heavy promises. Sometimes, not fulfilling promises might be as a result of some tenable reason while many others are just as a result of some flimsy excuses that doesn't hold water.

Some years ago, I came in contact with someone who wanted people to support what he was doing by means of investment and promise we would get some ROI, I mean return on investment either weekly or monthly basis. This looks good to me you know. Who doesn't want money that is stressfree?

And so I had to put in the money. I opted for the 1 month plan, little did I know that the business was already facing some hidden underlying challenges that was already threatening it growth and continuation. But this person kept on assuring that the money will be out just as promised.

1000059866.jpg
freepik

To cut the long story short, I lose the money, he couldn't refund both the money invested and the ROI he promised. It was a big lesson learnt on my path never to trust people's sweet mouth. Promises become valid when they are made good. I think it's my new found philosophy. One's hope shouldn't be raised until what is promise become reality.

Do you believe in the statement “a promise is a debt”? Expatiate.

Everyone is suppose to believe this including me....Yes it is a debt but I think the narrative has changed. Only serious minded people see it as a debt. Promises to some dubious folks is just a way to dodge responsibility and carry out mischiefs too.

To this kind of folks, it's never a debt because they are not obligated to fulfil it in the first place. It's only a debt to those who genuinely make them. This kind of people are those who will then see to it that they make good their promise.

People like this hardly find sleep most time because they have this consciousness that there's a debt to be paid just as a result of their promise to someone or an organization. They know that their integrity is at stake if they fail.

1000059867.jpg
freepik

So...promise is supposed to be a debt unless we are dealing with the wrong set of people who would just say words they do not really mean just to stay afloat certain situations or circumstances they find themselves.

Conclusion

Promises and surprises seem to be terms from two different world but if am to choose the one I love, it would be surprises. It gets me to the core, making me express my realest emotions. For example,getting an upvote from SC01 on this post would definitely sweep me off my feet because it's just the very last of my expectations.

I would definitely be over the moon if it becomes my reality. Anyways, I have only used this to explain my thoughts about surprises. Thanks you so much for your time.


Regards
@lhorgic❤️


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69460.30
ETH 3372.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74