THE FIRST EVER WOMEN'S PEACE CONFERENCE IN THE HISTORY OF CAMEROON

in Steem Cameroon3 years ago

Hello dear steemians hope you are all doing fine. I missed you guys. I hope not written for the past five days since I dropped the post about my little sister's birthday. That's because aloft of things have been happening and I didn't just have time to write. By the way happy new month to all. Its my birth month . I travelled to Yaounde from Douala for my second time and alone. The last time I went there, I was with a group of people for a shadow theatre performance

FB_IMG_1626047904489.jpg

FB_IMG_1626047891100.jpg

which was still the first ever in Cameroon. This time around, I used finex bus to travel to Yaounde. I had never been to the bus station and things there were just so different and confusing given the fact that I barely understand French . My mum had insisted i take VIP, so I did because I didn't really know how things work there. I paid 6k for a 3k journey and i discovered it was the same comfort, just the difference of too much air conditioning and one helpless bread.

20210728_112400.jpg

20210728_112857.jpg

I regretted why i used that can of money when i am not earning anything yet. Immediately I reached Yaounde and visited my big who surprised me big time. Its been long we met face to face and I found out she was eight months pregnant. I was so happy yet couldn't take a picture with her because, pregnant women and mood problem. From there I went to lodge with my friend from school who was also selected for the conference. To cut the long story short, the three days women's peace conference program was amazing though the food almost went wrong for me. We were given a lot of bread and flourly things throughout the conference merde the bread was just too much.

20210729_083614.jpg

The conference was an emotional , exciting and memorable experience. Meeting new friends and learning new things.

IMG-20210731-WA0040.jpg

I even got to learn the African antem, the women's antem and all. Alof of awesome artistic performances from Mac Alunge, Joyce Babatunde and others.

20210802_183802.png

20210729_105831.jpg

The conference was made up of 1000 women and a few men who called themselves "a he for she". My friend and I had a lot of dramatic moments every mornings and evenings with taxi men when going to palais des Congress. From our traditional wear and the way we spoke, they knew we were new there and tried to dude us all the time but I never gave them the chance. We listened to emotional stories and spoken word performances that even got us to tears .

IMG-20210730-WA0056.jpg

The food drama was just something else, having to stand on the line to collect food.

20210730_152253.jpg

The drama almost killed us on the last day where they had to reimburse our money spent for transportation and lodging saarhh come and see pushing on the line. But all together the conference was so impactful, educational and fun.

20210729_091348.jpg

IMG-20210730-WA0048.jpg

I travelled back to Douala this time around without problems . Did not take VIP this time yet it was very comfortable and less cold

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Wow @janicenini, that was certainly an amazing experience. Looking forward to a more peaceful Cameroon.
I loved the food part😋
Lets keep the steem up

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much @tignoga and welcome on board.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58254.01
ETH 2971.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89