Steemit Engagement Challenge S4-W4 | Music for steem

in Steem Cameroon2 years ago

woman-girl-freedom-happy-39853.jpeg
Link

Hello dear noble steemians.


It is a privilege to be engaging with you in this last week of season4 engagement challenge, and I applaud the cameroon community for this interesting contest. Follow me below as I explore the topic through the contest questions.


👉🏾 In your own words, what is music to you?

If you ask me to define music in one sentence, then I will say to you that music is life. In other words, I will define music as an Art, in which sounds of various pitch are combined to produce melodious, intelligent, harmonious, and coherent composition of ideas and emotions.

IMG_20220922_111724.JPG
Link

I see music as Art because, art is the expression of our innermost feelings, ideas, and emotions, and that is exactly what music is also all about. Music enable us to express our feelings, ideas, and emotions through combing sounds of various pitch in a melodious manner.

Secondly, I defined music as life because of how important it can be to human existence. Frankly speaking, I can not imagine life without music 🎶. Below are some importance of music.

  • Music improves health and wellbeing
  • Music brings people together
  • Music improves confidence and resilience
  • Music is fun
  • Music improves learning and memory
  • Music releases the happiness chemical
  • Music relieve poor mental disorderness
  • Music preserves culture and history

👉🏾How often do you listen to music?

My day without music, is like just kidding. I can not even imagine a day without it. Do you know why? It is because, music runs through my veins, music inspires me, music is part of my life, music comfort me, music is my friend, and music gives me hope.

Looking at how much music means to me, I listen to it as often as possible. The only time I don't listen to music is when I am either in a meeting, class, or any occasion that would not permit me to play music. I listen to music on every moments I find myself in a place where I can play it.

You know music is joyful, love, peaceful, and exciting. Music carries emotions, music holds memories, and music carries feelings. As a person who like enjoying moments, I play music all day.....


👉🏾Tell us about the genres of music you like and as well dislike

IMG_20220922_112428.JPG
Link

I have been trying to figure out the genres of music I like, but still can't figure out anyone in particular. The truth is, I like almost all genres of music, but the mood I find myself always determine the kind of music I play at that moment. For example, if I find myself in a dancing mood, I play Afro-beats ( kind of music that artists like Wizkids and Davido sing). And if I find myself in the mood of worship, I prefer to play gospel music.

There are times that I feel like sleeping, and at the same time playing music. Anytime I find myself in such mood, I prefer to play soul music. Soul music is a sub-genre of R & B. Nevertheless, if I am asked to choose only one genre, then I will be left with no choice than to go for gospel music. The reason is, I love to worship, and it gives me more comfort more than any other genres of music.

Talking about the music genre I dislike, well.... I don't actually dislike any, but I don't so much like hip-hop/rap. This is because, I hardly understand the messages that most of hip-hop artist are trying to pass across. As a matter of fact, I see some of the hip-hop songs as trash. They don't carry any message, and I hardly can understand what they are saying.


👉🏾Tell us about your favorite song/music and why this song

IMG_20220922_112828.JPG
Link

There are so many songs I love play on daily basis because, I find comfort, hope, joy, and fulfillment in them. Choosing a favorite out of the songs, is actually challenging. Nevertheless, I will choose a song that was composed by Joseph Medlicott Scriven in 1855. The song can be found in Christian Hymm book. He sang the song when he was faced with grief and trials. The songs says,

1 What a friend we have in Jesus,
all our sins and griefs to bear!
What a privilege to carry
everything to God in prayer!
O what peace we often forfeit,
O what needless pain we bear,
all because we do not carry
everything to God in prayer!


2 Have we trials and temptations?
Is there trouble anywhere?
We should never be discouraged;
take it to the Lord in prayer!
Can we find a friend so faithful
who will all our sorrows share?
Jesus knows our every weakness
take it to the Lord in prayer!

3 Are we weak and heavy laden,
cumbered with a load of care?
Precious Savior, still our refuge
take it to the Lord in prayer!
Do your friends despise, forsake you?
Take it to the Lord in prayer!
In his arms he'll take and shield you;
you will find a solace there._

Link

The above song is my favorite because, it tells me that Jesus Christ ( the son of God) is my friend. It also tells me that the only reason I am faced with trials, temptation, and lack of peace, is because I did not take everything to God in prayer. If only I can cry unto to God, he is ready to take away my pains and sorrows because he is my friend, and he never fails.

The song use to be my motivation in times of trouble, pains, and temptations. Most of the time, I pick my hymns books to sing the song because, I derive confidence from it.


👉🏾Do a live performance of your favorite song, upload to YouTube or dtube and include the Link in your post.

Hahaha... This people want to see my talent. Ok let's goooo... But don't lough oh!...

That reminds me, recently we talked about talent. I now leave you to decide if I am a talented singer or not. Mind you, I am good at singing in group...... 👀


👉🏾Do you love live music, what makes you like a song? the melody, the lyrics, or something else? and have you been to any concerts? Tell us about the most memorable concert that you have been to.

IMG_20220911_163143.jpg
during NCCF live concert

Live music, I love it so much. It is fun to me, and it gives me good memories. I have been to several live music concert, and I still don't joke with any opportunity to make myself present in anyone. The last music concert I attended, was organized by Nigerian christian coppers fellowship (NCCF), kwara state chapter on 28th Aug, 2022.


The concert was so amazing and soul touching. In that concert, I learned that it is more easier to praise God, than to worship him. I say this because, people praise God when they are happy. And in praising God, you can dance, jump, and clap, and I believe anyone can do that. But worship requires total submission. It is a sacrifice that comes from the heart. Not everyone can be submissive, and not everyone can cry, make sacrifices, and endure in the presence of God.

Talking about what makes me like a song, I can tell you that the melody and harmony is part of what makes a song interesting to me. But the basic thing that can make me play a song repeatedly, is the message that the song carries. I want a song that can touch my soul. A song that can move my spirit, and a song that can give me comfort, joy, and relief.

conclussion

I can not tell you what music is all about, but I can tell you what music is not. Nevertheless, I can still tell you that I see music as life itself. I also see music art. Music allows the expression of ideas, emotions and feelings. A life without music, is just like kidding. I love music. Music is my friend. Music comfort my soul. Music runs through my veins.

I won't drop my writing tools, until I invite some lovers of music to participate in this contest. I invite @patjewell, @yakpeace, and @blessedlife to join me in this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...

You are absolutely right listing the importance of music.

Have we trials and temptations?
Is there trouble anywhere?
We should never be discouraged;
take it to the Lord in prayer!

What a beautiful song you have chosen, I keep this words on my mind.

I enjoyed very much your singing hehehe, most of all because of your contagious smile.

I agree with you, most of times what makes me replay a song once and again is the message, not just the music. That could be because I like to sing the songs, not just listening to them.

Congratulations on your post.
Best wishes

 2 years ago 

Hahahahha... She said she enjoyed my singing. I know within me that singing is not my calling, but i enjoy playing music. Thank you ma'am for everything

 2 years ago 

Well done! You don't have to be shy of that performance!
Guess what? I love you favorite song.
It brought back so many memories from when my kids were small and I was a Sunday school teacher. We just loved singing that song on Sundays. You've put a tear in my eye tonight.
Thank you!!
PS: I might just take you up on your invite (•ิ‿•ิ)

 2 years ago 

Hola amigo, me gusto mucho tu canción y como cantas con mucho entusiasmo, eso me alegra bastante.
Te deseo mucho éxito.

 2 years ago 

I really appreciate your visit on my post ma'am.

 2 years ago 

A day without music is a gray day full of sadness. I think you have a lot of musical talent.

 2 years ago 

A day without music is a gray day full of sadness. I think you have a lot of musical talent.

 2 years ago 

Thank you dear for the visit

 2 years ago 

Wow que bonito describes la música, se ve cuánto te apasiona, también la preferencia por otros géneros que bueno no tienes distinción, tampoco me gusta el hip-hop no entiendo sigue letra.

Oye cantas muy bien tiene un tono de voz adecuado, disfrute mucho oírte cantar.

Felicitaciones por tu publicación, te deseo mucha suerte 😊

 2 years ago 

Thank you for the good wish

 2 years ago 

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣wa oo i love listing to your live performances my dear friend, you really tried seriously it is not easy to sing, the last time you sang i nearly finished my laugh but you really tried today.

You have written so well about music, indeed music is fun. I wish you all the best.

 2 years ago 

Thank you dear for your nice comment. I am actually not good at singing, but.... I love playing music

 2 years ago 

Of course you do dear, if you can give it a time trust me you will do better. Anyway you sang well🤗

 2 years ago 

Your post has been supported using the Steem Cameroon Curation Account.


You can follow the links below to support our community account by delegating.


50 SP 75 SP 100 SP 150 SP 200 SP 250 SP 500 SP 1000 SP 10000 SP


Steem Cameroon Discord Server
Steem Cameroon Telegram Channel

 2 years ago 

Thank you for the support

 2 years ago 

Although he was very hesitant to do his performance, he did well.
I'm glad you like to sing to our God.
Good luck in the challenge.🤞🏻
Best regards.
Many Blessings..🙏🏻

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62108.38
ETH 2582.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57