Steem Cameroon Poetry Contest Season 6 - (Body Shaming)by @ishayachris

in Steem Cameroon2 years ago (edited)

discrimination-and-bullying-towards-fat-girl-768.jpg
Image source

What you understand by Body Shaming? Define in your own words

Definitions


Body shaming can be defined as an act of humiliating a person by making improper or inappropriate comments concerning the persons body size, shape, or due to a particular default on the persons body.

Body shaming can also be seen as an action or practice of subjecting somebody to humiliation and criticism for their physical appearance or stature.

How has Body Shaming influenced you ?


Personally I have never experienced body shaming from anybody. Although, when I was a kid, so many people believed that I won't grow tall like my father, because then, I was looking short, with no sign of growing taller. As such many people refer to me as a short person. Nevertheless, as a kid, it meant nothing to me because I was even too small to see things of that nature as an offense. To the glory of God, I'm now tall and all those who saw me as a short person are now left with nothing but surprise. Nevertheless, I have met people who suffered body shaming. One person that was a victim of such was a guy in my school by name Tumba. Tumba suffered body shaming because he was short, fat, and dark in complexion. People refer to him as fat dwarf boy. Body shaming affected him to an extent that he normally avoid people sitting close to him. He preferred sitting alone all the time. He was so humiliated that he don't even like attending classes.

In not less than 200 words, write a poem about Body Shaming


If I have the power to change things around for myself, I could have done that right from the day I was born into this world. I wish to be like any other person in this world. I wish my body size and appearance can be like yours, but here I'm looking with default on my body. I stay awake asking why God made me like this, but I still have no answers to my question. Because I got no answer, I try to comfort myself and accept myself the way I am, but here you are making life more and more difficult for me. Its not my fault that I'm the way I am, but this is how God made me. You keep on mocking and humiliating me because of my appearance. But you have forgotten that I'm a human like you. I breathe the way you breath, I eat the way you eat, I sleep and do anything the same way you do. We are all humans. All I need is love because, as a human, I deserve love, I deserve respect, I need to be cared for. I need you to see me as human like you. I have suffered enough humiliation, I have suffered injustice, I have suffered too much abuse all because of my body appearance. Please don't forget, its not my fault that I'm like this. Life has not end for us all. I'm in this position today, tomorrow it could be you. So why humiliating me? Why not treat me like any other person? Will you be happy if tomorrow you are being abused because of you body size? Please, say no to body shaming. Let's accept ourselves the way God made us, and treat each other like brother's and sisters. Let love lead us, and say no to body shaming.

4bEjbgCbFMvA8T33kKpp3RsBvZue1Hns5Cwuz57pgmmNsP8AKzQjfnjB8L3NAmqNLokc4Yf27SRsp2UZ77LgALQrP9eUjhn4vXAYneCtQ4GJydkYkebLLq7LEUGkQ3L8XWoXVJ6XUCLj9o5gykdX58Xcxm2ovuWetGBHjwnjWEiZYwbBwt.png

That's my message to anyone who is involve in any kind of body shaming. Thank you for reading, and thank you for choosing to stop humiliating people whose body size or appearance are not appealing to you.

I invite @yakspeace, and @blackalbino to participate

30% to @steem-cameroon

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53