Weekends Recap, Diary game 📔

in Steem Cameroonlast year

Steem greetings to all the wonderful steemians on this community. First of all I want to say a big thank you to all of you. Your support has been wonderful.

Due to some stressful issues, I have not been here for almost ten days. I’m glad to finally be back here again. This particular diary recap is going to be more about my sister than myself. She’s called Fatima.

D25227E8-AB7E-4B7E-9C6D-C24505B0999E.jpeg a selfie of my sister and I

The last ten days have been exiting, challenging, adventures and a whole lot more of emotions.
Fatima graduated secondary last year, her waec results was very bright, in fact she was one of the most successful students in their entire department.
Normally what happens here most often is that when a student graduates with a good aggregate, she’s supposed to continue to a higher education in college or the university the same year she graduated secondary school.
That was the case with all her friends. All of her friends got admitted into the university, except Fatima. She did not even apply to go to any university or college.

Her reasons were simple. She doesn’t know what to study in the university and she’s not interested in a teaching training college.
I tried my best to convince her to apply to a university and continue her education immediately, if not her friends would get way ahead of her. She wasn’t bothered. I stopped trying to convince her when I realized myself that even I did not know what she should study in the university or why she should study which.

Fortunately, during the early days of this month (01/23) I saw on WhatsApp a link about a scholarship for girls in deprived rural communities to study soft were engineering for free. I immediately applied for my sister and alhamdulillah she was among the 30 girls shortlisted to undertake the training. The program is scheduled to last for 12 weeks. There’s going to be a test on the first 30 days, only students who are able to score 80 and above marks would continue for the rest of the 8 weeks.

She was very excited about the program. Even though Fatima has no background in tech she was happy to put in her best to acquire a valuable skills in tech.

56FEB3E9-5355-4641-A2A2-962E9860815D.jpeg Fatima

1C344DD8-86CA-4A93-A426-1EA121B8B7BD.png screenshot from her gmail

Then, another challenge arrived. The training is 100% digital. The program is going to take place on Zoom, GitHub, WhatsApp,Slack and other digital platforms. Yet Fatima has no digital tool. She doesn’t own a smartphone talk less a laptop. She has never even used a laptop before.

We are both aware that acquiring a smartphone and a laptop immediately is going to be a very big nightmare for all of us, including mom and dad, almost impossible.
But we also understood the importance of the opportunity and how lucky she’s to be part of the only 30 girls short listed. So we were willing to make some sacrifices.

First we agreed to get Fatima a smartphone to start. And during the course of the program we’ll struggle to get her a laptop.

I didn’t have any money on me, but I was determined to make sure that sister acquire a valuable skill in tech. I made some sacrifices, broke my bank and finally we were able to get Fatima a smartphone and a laptop. She’s now fully equipped and excited to begin her first ever digital tuition experience. Fatima is aware that acquiring a skill in computer software is not an easy task, especially for someone without any background in computer technology. Fatima is also aware the economic situation of the family and how far we have went to make sure that she’s fully equipped for this training. I believe Fatima can learn a tech skill and I cannot wait to see her graduate.

BB74DEF5-B9B1-4A93-8697-8AF4055B7E40.jpeg

77A70A19-900E-4664-99C9-0686B20C530F.jpeg

64B49AE0-9B7F-4513-8BDA-8EE0F992F510.jpeg

The training starts today (Monday 23/01) I’m very happy for my sister. I wish her all the best in the tech journey. I hope she puts in her best and make all of us proud.

BF699C00-85EC-4849-951D-5B376366F81D.png screenshot from Fatima’s gmail

 Ps: all pictures are posted her with Fatima’s permission and consent 

Thank you so much for reading my diary. See you on the next blog 👍🏿❤️

Sort:  
Loading...

This post has been upvoted through Steemcurator09.

Congratulations! (1).png


Curated by - @radjasalman

Friend, thank you for your time sharing. I love the smiles on your face in the first picture. Keep power ups and keep sharing. Steem on!

Thank you for sharing. Nice smiles on your face. Keep sharing with us. You can also share with Amazing Ghana and enjoy your steemit as well. Come and share with us friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43