You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are Dowries Dehumanizing" [28/06/2024]

in Steem Cameroon28 days ago

Very beautiful content. You see the issue of dowry in my state? I will say it is dehumanizing if I must say the truth. Like you've rightly stated, it wasn't big deal in those, it was simply to bind the marriage but these days, even parents not even kinsmen see it as a means of getting rich or survival. The level of gluttony and greed in our culture is just too much. The truth is that it's not like this in every culture in Nigeria.

My husband and I have already decided that for our daughter we won't take anything from the man and we will also make sure his kinsmen will not override on him.

It's quite disheartening that young people who would have started their family keep gathering resources just to go and marry. The resources that they would've used to establish themselves would be used to satisfy other people.

Thank you for the invitation, I'll surely write on this with the way I usually and I'm currently angry about the tradition of dowry in my culture.

Best wishes in the contest dear friend.

Sort:  
 26 days ago 

The want to get rich overnight because they have a daughter to give out for marriage.
Thank you for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65